DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cyberpunk RED
by Jordi F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2021 06:52:18

After I've been playing for a few months I can say the game is a mess.

Layout is horrible and trying to find rules it's always a pain in the ass ... like, you want to know how much does a car cost? Maybe in "Fitted for the future" chapter? Nop. Maybe in "Street Economy : Night market" chapter? Nop. They are in vehicle combat. And there are like dozens of things like this, rules dropped everywhere without care ... and when you're playing and need to reference something, you know you've seen it somewhere, but you have to stop the game to try to find it or just pull it from your arse and keep going.

Lore? Yep, a mess to ... the game doesn't know what it wants to be. Look at the cover art itself, then I tell you that commerce is broken and people can't get what they want, corporations are no longer international but broken into local places because no internet, and containers don't reach places and nomads control the trade routes and the game suggest you have to find old abandoned containers to find cool stuff or buy it in black markets ... and it begins to feel a lot more like some kind of post-war post-apoc game than cyberpunk, and you wonder ... how the fuck those corporations are still a thing if they can't sell stuff? Who pays for the neon signs? Who pays for the fuel of those flying cars?

Nomads of course! Because it seems that R.Talsorian has some kind of hardon with nomads. They have the best education. Best cars. Control trade and badlands ... and are the saviours of the world. After the 4th corporate war Night City was almost destroyed. Who saved it? You'd guessed it! Nomads!! You are a techie? Sorry, you won't be able to make better cars than nomads ... no, they don't need skill, they "just" have them.

And those poor hobos on the streets with old lame cyberware? No longer here! Because somehow cloning stuff is so easy and cheap now that replacing your missing limbs with new gadgets it's almost easier than scavenging an arm and paying a doc to install it. Yeah, you hear it, you no longer have organ scavengers or traffickers, because it's just cheaper to clone stuff! It's almost instantaneously too ... but remember that we still don't have global internet nor common trade routes so all this technology and training has any sense to reach anywhere :D

And it keeps going on ...

Rules are, of course, another mess ... from shotgun shells that can only hit someone at 3 meters, to skills like "Autofire" that are harder to learn and use than Cryptography, Mathematics, or whatever other knowledge skill. Why? Because they didn't know how to balance autofire, so they made it hard to purchase and use. Job done. Fuck it.

A weak desperate street hooker is going to hit you with a machete? That's gonna be 2d6 of damage. You say a 2 meter tall full cyborg Adam Smasher-like beast is going to hit you with the same machete? Yep, still 2d6 damage. Strength isn't taken into account at all. Now, if our borg drops the machete and hits you with a fist and 1 rank of karate? 3d6 of damage, here I go, maybe even 4d6 if it's borged enough.

Combat feels bullet spongy, cover makes it feel like some sort of video game with people jumping around trying to dodge bullets. I mean, cover doesn't upgrade difficulty checks, they just add a layer of hit points you have to destroy ... but if not fast enough, your target can just change cover and you'll have to start anew. Unless you ignore cover and run around the battlefield to ignore theirs and use your REF 8 to dodge bullets. Because that's what movies and Call of Duty taught us.

There are so many things that feel wrong that I don't have the patience to write here and ... at a certain point, you just keep doing more and more house rules until you ponder why the hell you are even trying. I didn't pay to do the job myself. I buy a rulebook so I have the job made for me.

Art is cool tho ... except that it just misses any context at all or it's just generic as fuck. Most of the art is just there to look pretty not to reinforce text or help you visualize anything. Like you may be reading about the Fixer class special ability and they show you a giant buddha statue in the middle of containers of a cargo area. Maybe you're reading about skills and they put a drawing of some cyborg dude applying makeup.

Verdict : A failure. It seems like a game that doesn't know what it wants to be. Like two different persons altogether are steering the book in two different directions ... one is an old "I'm tired of this genre" guy, and the other is some CoD kid with that kind of "cool" ideas that make you roll your eyes.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk v.3
by tristan w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2021 22:36:19

the lime green coloration mixed with the way the information is presented makes even attempting to read this extremely difficult on a computer. if you'd best get a printer and print it off in black and white because with color it is just painful to even so much as look at. the publisher really should have stuck with the CP 2020 style of presentatrion because it helps if you include daigrams of what the fuck you're doing when running a game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2021 09:40:08

This was a difficult choice for me, because this game fixed all the things I disliked about Shadowrun, but is far from perfect. I would still wholeheartedly recommend this game to anyone who is an experienced roleplayer, or who likes the Cyberpunk setting, but there are serious issues with the design of the book and some of the decisions made regarding the publishing that tarnish its score. I really like the review another person posted with GBU, so I will be applying that.

The Good: Excellent setting, flexible rules, fast paced interesting combat. I am not experienced with 2020, but I will say that it is a smoother game than DnD, and I rarely have trouble keeping the attention of my players (always a nightmare whenever I try to play DnD). The system is good, and with adequite support over the next few years, will definitely be worth getting into.

The Bad: There is no sugar coating it, the layout of this book is atrocious. The index section is even worse. Finding any important rules is a nightmare of page flipping for entire table. The hyperlinks tend to be farely good on the pdf, bringing you to relevant sections, but if you don't know where to even start looking for the answer (and incredibly common problem with this layout, believe it or not), then you need to use the search feature of your PDF reader. Shocker, the search feature is just as useless because the book is filled with ridiculous amounts of lore.

I don't dislike lore, in fact I would probably read it if it wasn't randomely sprinkled over the entire book when I am trying to find important, time sensitive rules. If I crack open the book, I am either trying to read lore or learn the game, I should not have to dig to find either.

The layout issues are well documented in nearly every review I see, and while they don't cause as many issues in the PDF due to the hyperlinking and the search issues, but I would have to give my hard copy of the book 3 stars because of how frustratingly useless and expensive it was.

The Ugly: To be frank, this is mostly a personal problem, but I can see other people having this issue too. RTG is advertising Astral Tabletop here as a place to play Cyberpunk, even going as far as letting a screamsheet be released for free. This might make you think that RTG supports ATT as a way to play CPR. Guess what? It doesn't. There are 2 dozen posts on the forum requesting that the 10 or so NPCs in the book be imported into ATT, no response from the Publisher or ATT. I asked several times nicely on the RTG discord if they were looking into this. No response. I spent $100 on a yearly ATT membership because I thought that CPR was going to be supported, only to have to spend 8 or so hours of my life building those basic characters because the publisher can't be bothered, and because of the way ATT works, I have no way of giving anyone else access to those characters I made, either.

The character sheets are already set up which is nice, but that is all you will ever get. They better be worth the price of the ATT subscription.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mekton Zeta
by Mike I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2021 23:51:50

I loved this game back in the day but as an adult, I don't have the bandwith for this much crunch in my rpgs. This game is definitely showing it's age despite being a true classic.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Witcher's Journal
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/10/2021 04:46:36

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2021/04/06/ersteindruck-a-witchers-journal-r-talsorian-games-monster-en-masse/

Lange bevor Geralt von Riva über den Kontinent zog, ja sogar vor den unbekannten Abenteuern seines Mentors Vesemir, gab es Erland von Larvik, einen Hexer der ersten Stunde. Seine Notizen bilden die Basis für die zweite Erweiterung zum Witcher-Rollenspiel. Wenig überraschend enthalten diese viele Beschreibungen von Monstern.

Bereits 2018 erschien das Grundregelwerk zum Hexer-Rollenspiel oder auch The Witcher – TRPG im Hause R. Talsorian Games und bot einen soliden Einstieg zum Rollenspiel auf dem namenlosen Kontinent. Die gesellschaftlichen Probleme, die politischen Intrigen und die generelle Düsternis des Settings wurden treffend eingefangen. Dazu spielten sich die Kämpfe dank des W10er-Interlock-Systems (Cyberpunk Red) außerordentlich tödlich. Die erste Erweiterung Lords&Lands bot verhältnismäßig wenig und überzeugte weder bei den NSC, den Ländereien noch der neuen Klasse Adelige:r völlig.

Mit dem Witcher‘s Journal bringt das Team um Cody Pondsmith nun die nächste Erweiterung auf den Markt. Dieses Mal darf sie sich tatsächlich so nennen: Auf den insgesamt 160 Seiten finden sich zahlreiche Monster und verschiedene Tagebucheinträge des legendären Hexers Erland von Larvik. Dazu Hexer-Aufträge, besondere Monster und neue Spielmechaniken. Ein proppenvolles Paket also?

Das Goldene Zeitalter der Hexer – A Witcher‘s Diary Mit den Aufzeichnungen des ersten Hexers erweitern R. Talsorian Games den spielbaren Zeitraum. Bisher standen in ihrem Rollenspiel die Ereignisse um die drei Nilfgaardischen Kriege im Vordergrund, die während der Bücher und Videospiele stattfinden. Nun wagten die Entwickler:innen den Sprung ins kalte Wasser und liefern hier erstmals Einblicke in die Anfänge der Hexer-Gilde, kurz nach der Konjunktion der Sphären.

Es werden Jahreszahlen und Hintergründe zu den ersten Hexern geliefert sowie zu einigen bekannten Vertretern jener Zeit. Schlussendlich geht es dann um die Spaltung der Hexer in verschiedene Schulen, die sich den Kontinent aufteilen, die daraus resultierende Renaissance der ausschließlich männlichen Kaste und den unausweichlichen Niedergang der Schulen.

Im Auftrag einer reichen Witwe kümmert sich Erland von Larvik um ein paar Neblinge, die es sich im Sumpf etwas zu gemütlich gemacht haben. © R. Talsorian Games Das betitelte Goldene Zeitalter ist hierbei nur in puncto Monsteranzahl wirklich golden. Ansonsten dominieren weiterhin bekannte Themen wie Rassismus, Mord und Totschlag, Krieg oder Neid – es ist und bleibt eine raue Welt.

Insgesamt sind die Informationen detailliert, aber nicht zu detailverliebt, sodass eine Kampagne zur Zeit der ersten Hexer gut zu erstellen ist. Jedoch bleibt genügend Freiraum, eine eigene Geschichte zu erschaffen und neues Lore zu erleben.

Neben dem Rundumschlag in fiktiver Historie werden als kleine Einspieler zwischen den Monsterbeschreibungen einzelne Transkripte aus den Larvik’schen Tagebüchern geliefert. Diese gehen nie über eine äußerst volle DIN-A4-Seite und lesen sich in etwa wie die Kurzgeschichten der Geralt-Saga, wenn man diese auf die Kampfszenen reduziert hätte. Die Geschichten selbst sind meist zu kurz, um eigene Abenteuer daraus zu entwickeln, jedoch lassen sie die sonst etwas zahlenlastigen Monsterbeschreibungen lebhafter wirken und liefern Anhaltspunkte zur Beschreibung der Wesen.

Tödliche Tierwesen und wo sie zu finden sind – Von Barbegazi bis Waldschrat Das Gros der Erweiterung machen jedoch nicht die Tagebücher, sondern die Monsterbeschreibungen aus. Direkt zu Beginn wird erklärt, wie die Monstertabellen zu lesen sind. Wäre das nicht etwas für das Grundregelwerk gewesen, welches geradezu unter einer Flut von wenig erklärten Tabellen litt?

Nichtsdestotrotz lohnt sich die Klarstellung. Die Monster im Buch sind in Kategorien wie Nekrophagen, Geister oder Bestien unterteilt. Besondere Monster wie höhere Vampire oder echte Drachen bilden nochmal eine eigene Klasse. Über 33 Monster haben so im Journal eine neue Heimat gefunden. Bis auf die Trolle gibt es keine Dopplungen mit dem Grundregelwerk. Mit dabei sind viele faszinierend-abstoßende Wesen aus The Witcher 3, wie etwa Fehlgeborene oder Schleimlinge. Doch auch unbekanntere Bestien aus den Vorgängern haben Einzug gefunden, beispielsweise die Gralle.

Die Jagdobjekte haben neben einer generellen Schwierigkeit viele weitere Stellschrauben. Wie intelligent sind sie? Sind sie rein instinktgesteuert oder in der Lage, taktische Entscheidungen zu treffen? Über was für Fähigkeiten und Finessen verfügen sie? Und, am allerwichtigsten für den dauerhaft geldknappen Hexer: Was für Beute wirf das Monstrum ab? Das schafft auf einer Buchdoppelseite Übersichtlichkeit und System für die SL.

Abgerundet wird das Monsterkomplettpaket mit einigen Hilfestellungen zu Encountern und längeren wie kürzeren Lore-Texten, welche aus der Sicht von Gelehrten oder Hexern verfasst wurden. Diese Erfahrungsberichte zeigen sehr schön die Wissensunterschiede. Denn während Nicht-Hexer sich mit ihrer Bildung nur auf Hörensagen und Aberglauben verlassen können, ist es den Profis dank ihrer Ausbildung vergönnt, sehr schnell viele wichtige Informationen zu Tage zu fördern.

Das kann dann, ganz Witcher-typisch, den ein oder anderen Kampf ersparen. Wenn der Hexer der Gruppe sich beispielsweise daran erinnert, dass Trolle oft mit Alkohol bestechlich sind und die SC daraufhin ihre Taschen danach durchsuchen, um die Monster-Begegnung unbeschadet zu überstehen.

Außergewöhnliche Monster – Lebensläufe für Drachen und Vampire Die sogenannten Außergewöhnlichen Monster stechen aus der restlichen Metzel-Masse heraus und sind mit deutlich mehr Informationen versehen. So geht es bei den echten Drachen viel um die Unterschiede bei der Farbgebung, ihre Gesellschaftsform und wie ein so hochintelligentes Wesen trotz fehlender Lippen mit den Spieler:innen kommunizieren kann.

Höhere Vampire, die vielen noch aus dem Witcher 3-DLC Blood and Wine bekannt sein dürften, fallen ebenfalls in die Kategorie des Besonderen. Neben viel Hintergrundmaterial zu den verschiedenen Stämmen und ihren Ursprüngen rund um das Herzogtum Toussaint, dürfte die größte Neuerung der Lebenslauf für die besonderen Monster sein. Denn da es sich bei Drachen wie Vampiren um nahezu unbesiegbare Boss-Gegner handelt, empfiehlt das Buch, sie von vornerein mit mehr Persönlichkeit, als das typische „Monster der Woche“ zu versehen. R. Talsorian liefert hier auswürfelbare Lebensläufe mit aberdutzenden Möglichkeiten. Das war bereits eine der Stärken des Grundregelwerks. Ähnlich wie bei den SC geht es hier zuerst um die Familie und das Alter, bevor es um spezielle Dinge wie den Jagdstil oder einzelne Lebensereignisse geht. So können Drachen beispielsweise in Frieden mit der Landbevölkerung zusammengelebt oder ein Vampir schonmal gegen einen Hexer gekämpft haben, woraufhin er gegen seine Tricks immun wurde. Vielleicht ist der vampirische Gegenspielende einer Gruppe aber auch nur ein ausgestoßener Blutalkoholiker.

Nach diesem Prinzip lässt sich prima und schnell eine Nemesis für die Gruppe entwickeln, die nicht an einem Abend besiegt wird, sondern am Ende einer langen Kampagne steht.

Ermittlungen und Aufträge – Hardboiled Witcher Passend zu den supernatürlichen Antagonist:innen bespricht das Buch in seinem vorletzten Kapitel, wie sich diese mit komplexeren Abenteuern langsam aufbauen lassen. Kurz gesagt: Es geht um Rätsel und Ermittlungen im Witcher-Rollenspiel. Denn wie das Buch treffend festhält, sind Hexer nicht nur mutierte Monsterschlächter, sondern genauso effektive Detektive. Oftmals ist am Anfang eines Auftrages nicht klar, um welche Bestie es sich handelt (so vage sind unter anderem auch die elf beigelegten Hexer-Aufträge). Vor dem eigentlichen Kampf werden also Zeug:innen befragt oder Tatorte untersucht.

Aus dem Intelligenz- und dem Willenskraft-Wert ermittelt sich die Menge an Fokuspunkten, die für das Finden von Hinweisen und das daraus folgende „Herstellen“ von Beweisen gebraucht wird. Die Hinweissuche kann durch Hindernisse erschwert werden. Die Hinweise selbst können zusätzlich noch einen Verschleierungs-Wert haben, der wie eine Art Rüstung für das Rätsel fungiert. Das Mysterium selbst hat einen Komplexitätswert, welcher schlussendlich durch „Schaden“ auf null reduziert werden muss, um zu des Rätsels Lösung zu gelangen.

Trotz zahlreicher Beispiele und umfangreichen Informationen verfällt das Witcher’s Journal hier in alte Muster und verliert sich mitunter in Überkomplexität und Zahlen. Andere, durchaus relevante und spannende Aspekte fürs Ermittlungsrollenspiel, wie etwa der Umgang mit der Diskrepanz zwischen Spieler:innen und Charakterwissen, werden lediglich am Rande behandelt.

Erscheinungsbild Das Witcher’s Journal umfasst 160 DIN-A4-Seiten und ist im Oktober 2020 außerdem in deutscher Übersetzung beim Truant Verlag erschienen – für den Ersteindruck lag jedoch nur die englische PDF vor.

Der größtenteils fehlerfreie und gut lesbare Text wird untermalt von zahlreichen stimmigen Illustrationen der Witcher-Welt. Erstmals finden sich sogar komplett neue Bilder im Buch. Bisher lieh man hierbei immer von The Witcher 3 oder Gwent.

Die Texte sind verständlich, das Layout ist stimmig. Offenbar wurde aus den vielen Fehlerchen des ersten Grundregelwerks gelernt – schlecht oder gar nicht erklärte Tabellen gibt es jedenfalls keine. Vorhandene Informationen sind sinnvoll auf Text, Tabellen und Seitenränder verteilt.

Die PDF ist bereits mit einem Index versehen, welcher schnell zu den einzelnen Monsterklassen verweist. Für ein wenig Verwirrung sorgte, dass die Tagebucheinträge im Inhaltsverzeichnis den Monstern beigefügt sind, sie im PDF-Index aber als eigenständiges Kapitel aufgeführt sind.

Fazit

Das Witcher’s Jorunal ist ein solides Bestiarium zum Nachschlagen und Erweitern der eigenen Kampagnen geworden. Alle notwendigen Informationen zu einem Monster befinden sich auf wenigen Seiten komprimiert und lassen sich schnell umsetzen. Die Wesen sind abwechslungsreich und zusätzliche Features wie die Lebensläufe geben den besonderen Monstern bereits zum Start eigene Persönlichkeiten mit Freund:innen, Feind:innen und Verflossenen.

Der Hintergrund-Teil des Buches und die Aufträge sind eine nette Dreingabe, genauso wie die Tagebucheinträge. Insgesamt bleiben sie jedoch genau das, eine Dreingabe. Für einen richtigen Story- oder Kampagnenband wäre das zu wenig. Durch die Hexer-zentristische Sicht fehlen hier vor allem Informationen zu politischen und gesellschaftlichen Umständen.

Das Investigationssystem ist detailliert, verliert sich aber mitunter in seinen zahlreichen Sonderregelungen und wirkt in Anbetracht einer zügigen Umsetzung am Spieltisch erst einmal abschreckend.

Als Monster-Erweiterung erfüllt das Buch für knapp 30 Euro (15 Euro für die PDF) seinen Zweck allemal. Es bietet viel Material für spannende Kämpfe, Abenteuer und Begegnungen in der Welt der Hexer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Witcher's Journal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2021 09:41:25

So, to explain. Cybwepunk, especially 2020 and When Gravity Fails have been a massive influence on me. So I am gonna try and run that edge of Sunnies and Tri-pheds. Pop in my Hunter S. Tompson Moddy and give this a go...

Neon revolution. Electronic wonderland. Hydrogen happiness Not Chooh. Virtual destiny and mixed reality. Chem-Stem holiday. 'Chosis Choombas. In the NET? Naw, in the Corvette! Or Mega Tron Or a toaster. No run the Net. Run the machines.

The "new" version of games has become worn. Except for the ones where things have changed.

Elves are still elves; but Medias are Fake News. Vibe the Influencer and Content Creator. It may not be true; but its the closest you will ever be.

Rockerboy? So cis-gender. Rappers can talk the words of the Prophets! They put the Soul in your shoe or the blood. Livin on the edge, like a lap dance for Satan!

Nomad was a fad. Road Warrior Wore Out. Boosters are Fam and with them, Street Cred is everything. For they are The Warriors, Send the Word!

Scream Sheets? F'ed to the A! Its about that Feel-a-Vision and Blip Verts. No Controller for Edison Carter when she can jump from drone to bot and what-not.

Virtual Reality? If my meat sack is so happy there, Johnny Silverhand just Ctrl Alt Deleted. No love for the Output. Me 2!

Why change the rules, if you can't change the word!

Peace out on my Zip Speech, Night City!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witcher Pen & Paper RPG
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2021 15:51:07

Straightforward if brutal, uses an adaptation of RTGs Interlock system for easy, fast paced fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witcher Pen & Paper RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Babbage's Engine
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2021 12:40:25

Our group ran this adventure using the Victoriana 3rd edition rules. While we like the Victoriana/Heresy enging, we wanted the more adventurous and light-hearted tone found in Castle Falkenstein. As has been stated previously, this adventure is, literally, a railroad that starts on a railroad. It proceeds from scene to scene with the characters actions having little or no direct impact on the story. That being said, there is ample opportunity for roleplaying and interaction with NPCs. This adventure was a great introduction to the world of Falkenstein, a fine jumping off point for our games, and an enjoyable evening for all concerned!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Babbage's Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Listen Up You Primitive Screwheads!!!!!
by Hans S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2021 15:17:33

If you would like poorly edited essays on why you should put more "gotcha" moments and TPK in your games, you can pay for it here. Or you could just search the internet and get likeminded GM to say that it is better to assert power over your PC.

I strongly disagree with this position, and frankly resent the idea that conflict should (or even can) be resolved with passive-agressive methods like those recommended here. Even having recently kicked a player for the first time, I prefer reconciliation (to be fair, some essayists make a passing reference to reconciliation, but overwhelmingly assume it will fail).

Some advice "nuggets" from the book include:

  1. the idea that you should come up with a story first and then try to find players that will fit your vision, or else compel them to take skills and backgrounds that will fit;
  2. the idea that "power players" merely want to annoy you or steal your authority and must be punished by unbeatable NPC or unwinnable situations;
  3. taking away from players the things that make their PC cool or interesting because you should punish "abusive power gaming";
  4. finally, this gem of a remark: "gaming has been for too long the hiding place of pseudo-intellectuals... watch out for them"

Take the author's advice and "watch out" for the pseudo intellectuals that authored this document. I genuinely cannot reconcile the overall ratings with the content of this book. Not recommended.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Listen Up You Primitive Screwheads!!!!!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Darin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2021 10:30:18

I was 15 when I got my hands on the old black box cyberpunk 2013. I took that thing with me everywhere. Dice, mechanical pencils, character sheets and of course the books were stored inside. The box is long gone today though I still have the books clinging on to their staples just barely. They got a lot of use as did my 2020 books. - Mid 40's now and my excitement for Cyberpunk RED has not diminished. It goes to work with me, back in the car to and to home again... Cyberpunk RED is a wonderful addition to the Cyberverse. I highly recommend picking up a copy if you are a fan. My son and his friends are still playing Cyberpunk 2020 and Cybergeneration. Our First cyberpunk RED game will be this weekend. My family would like to thank everyone at R. Talsorian Games for two generations of entertainment and imagination. May there be many more at all of your tables as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk RED
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 12:44:17

TL;DR great entry point for Cyberpunk, character creation is confusing yet the life path is expanded upon. Netrunning has been reworked for the better and is a must for cyberpunk 2020 games to be homebrewed in. the book is both lacking information and isn't clear on the information presented.

i played this as a player and GMed the quickstart adventure The Apartment, so i'll give thoughts on both sides.

as a Player, coming from Cyberpunk 2020, it's still detailed in it's skill based system, however they streamlined some thing. this isn't meant to be a bad thing. combat is still deadly and the critical injury chart is really good.

first, the book it self, i have the PDF so you can click on links to specific pages for information so that's handy, however, one of the complaints from a player side, and even as a gm, the information isn't presented well and clear, so my GM had to stop combat and an RP encounter a couple of times to check the core book and either there isn't information on say, defending skill checks or clarity on said skill checks. this is easily fixed by just rule calling. however combat, is fast if not faster than 2020. one positive is there is charts for each weapon you use, so in the Friday Night Firefight chapter, you have every information you need to know your DV (difficulty Value) for range, which is great!

this is a personal complaint, and from what i've seen this is a common complaint: character creation is confusing. in 2020 there is a clear way of making your character, roll stats, run the life path, assign your career skills, pick ups skill, then buy your gear and cybernetics. in RED, you pick your role, choose either Ratpack or Edgerunner "template" creation or Total Package. this in my opinion is WAY too confusing. i get it to streamline it for new players to get a character up and running, however, as someone who came from 2020, it just adds unnecessary steps for the sake of simplicity. my GM just said for everyone to do Total Package which is much "closer" to 2020 character creation. the Life Path changed yet expanded upon. you can roll or choose your life path (rolling is way more fun) and they have a chart for your Role life path which i find very interesting and makes sense, because career specific thing do happen, so it's nice to know if you have a rogue AI chasing you when you jack in as a netrunner or made rivals/enemies in your career.

the biggest change that was needed, is the Netrunner chapter. by god, this chapter is the reason i made a Netrunner! in lore, the Net is a dangerous black abyss now filled with Black Ice programs, and is no longer a world wide network, so Netrunners can't be in their command centers anymore, every building has its own network, so the netrunner has to jack in in person, and it's just as deadly in the net and meat form. instead of the complex mine sweeper-esque graph paper from 2020, it's an elevator, you scan to see what "floors" are available, and the risk vs. reward of moving up in the elevator. it is faster and a simpler version of netrunning, so i HIGHLY recommend 2020 gms to homebre these rules for 2020.

i mentioned i ran quickstart RED, the pre-gen character sheets are great, however it's a "diet" version of the real red version, but that's a good starting point, the only thing that suck as of this review, is a lack of a gm screen for quick references, so you'll need to use your google-fu or photo shop skills to have one for yourself.

overall, if you're curious about how to get into Cyberpunk red, this is a great starting point, and if you want a more crunchy version of RED, 2020 is great! however, the character creation and information in the book is confusing so definitely use your google-fu to get some clarity or ask your gm for clarification on certain rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chromebook 3/4
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 12:20:54

an essential for more options for players and characters. this book has options to make youre look like a specific animal. it's out there, but creative!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chromebook 3/4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chromebook 1/2
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 12:19:35

another essential book for cyberpunk, this book is great for tech, fashion, and more cybernetic options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chromebook 1/2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 12:07:46

i wish majority of rpg books do this, have a book with all of the weapons from all of the source books in one book. it is literally a book of guns. it's super handy for your players and rping shopping.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackhand's Street Weapons 2020
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night City
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 12:05:43

THE sourcebook to have for your Cyberpunk game! it's a reason why it is considered an ESSENTIAL book. while the cyberpunk 2020 book had information on Night City, this book expands on every building, street, where is where, what street gangs runs what, and so on.

get it! you won't regret it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 235 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates