DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cyberpunk RED
by Joris F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 19:57:09

The first time I regret that drivethru is not offering refunds. I hope you like unhelpful lore, frequent repetitions and infos on a single topic scattered accross a hundred pages.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello! We're sorry you didn't enjoy the book. DriveThruRPG does have a refund policy. Please contact them for further information and we hope you find a game more to your liking!
Cyberpunk RED
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2020 16:16:15

First product I am reviewing on here, because I felt like this was probably the first book (PDF, tbc) I got here that deserves 5 stars. I have not played any of the previous editions and can't say I was a fan of the genre beforehand. But heck, I sure am now, at least of this specific universe and setting. I did not care much about the videogame that is coming soon, but now I actually want to know how the -official- story continues and am looking forward to telling my own in CPR.

  • The first PDF that actually is helpful when navigating through it, beyond just a linked index (which most rulebooks don't even support).
  • A reasonable structure (not perfect, but I guess that's impossible because it depends on personal taste) for the different categories and parts of the book.
  • Well written rules. I haven't found a lot that was confusing or unintuitive. The whole thing just seems very well thought out. Wish I could say that for more games I played (or at least read) in the past.
  • Great artwork.
  • A captivating world/setting with an interesting story as framework for the things to come.

As mentioned, I can't compare the rules to previous editions. From what I am reading, Red is supposed to make the system more beginner-friendly. If that was indeed the goal, I guess I am a good example that it worked. I would recommend this any time, even to people who have not dabbled in this genre before. Great job, R.Talsorian Games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2020 10:14:55

The wait is over and so well worth it! This text is streamlined, solid and perfect. You will be reading something, think to yourself "I would like to read more about this", and then you will read, "If you want to read more about this, turn to page XXX." You click on the page number, and boom, you are then reading more. Instant gratification! When you look at the old scanned materials, then at this, you will wonder how we went so long without a new edition. My hope is that this line will continue for a long time to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Steve T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2020 09:09:27

Absolutely Phenominal!!! I didn't think I would lve it more than 2020 but you've done it again Mike (and the rest of R Talsorian)!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Phillip G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2020 01:17:05

A cyberpunk game with hacking rules that work, that alone should sell you. This is the best cyberpunk game available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Will T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2020 00:19:27

It has been years in the making and waiting and it has been well worth it.

In a game where heartless corporations are one of it's antagonists, Cyberpunk Red arrives with it's heart fully intact and beating stronger than ever.

From the beginning, way back in 1988 when Cyberpunk 2013 hit the scene to today's Cyberpunk Red this has always been the creation of Mike Pondsmith. Yes, there is a small group who helped write Red but the heart and soul will always be that of Mike Pondsmith. Many games who survive that long usually end up in other hands and sometimes that can work, sometimes not. Sometimes when it seems to work what you really get is a workable system that is clearly the product of a corporation that (no matter what smiling face they paste on it) just want your money. What struck me immediately when reading Red was the complete opposite of corporate coldness. First thing, even before you realize that it's an amazing RPG, is that it's an amazing read on it's own. And it's a fun read as well. Immersive and detailed but never boring. I've been with this game from the beginning but if I were completely new I would feel comfortably up to speed even before reaching any of the rules sections.

The rules themselves make this one of the best RPG's ever written. Just the character creation section alone gives you three distinct styles to choose from which range from no crunch to full crunch. Each method gives you a fully fleshed out character depending on what you want.

The rest of the basic rules such as fighting, hacking and the like all have just the right amount of crunch without leaving new and old players alike with a raging headache. Tons of detail but written in an accessible way. I haven't even touched on the rest of it (including the fantastic art throughout) that helps you as a player or game master immerse yourself into this fully realized game.

I have also ordered a physical copy and look forward to it's arrival.

For further comments please see mine in the discussions section.

Bravo to all involved.

An easy 10/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk RED
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2020 15:06:26

"Cyberpunk Red is not a tie-in game, it’s the next edition of Cyberpunk 2020. This means mixing new layout with old rules, and 2020s social awareness with 1980s cheese. I’m not going to say it’s the next big thing in tabletop. I am, however, going to play the hell out of it." - Aaron Marks

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/11/13/cyberpunk-red-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
by Elliot C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2020 06:45:33

Picked this up as a friend wanted to run Cyberpunk, having read through, it feels half finished. There has been minimal editting and rules and stats for items are scattered throughout the book or in some cases entirely absent. The publisher has stated that they have no intention of fixing any of this. There are some sections that are obviously copied from previous books, making reference to sidebars that don't exist.

If you dig past the formatting and typos there's a decent system there, with an interesting, if shallow world. The combat is rather crunchy and armour rules seem a little poorly thought out (AP rounds halve armour and halve the damage dealt so they're only helpful in very bands of armour and damage) but it seems workable if unrealistic.

Character generation is difficult due to the formattng but it gives a fair number of options and interfaces well with the world. It's not standard cyberpunk - none of the standard cyberware you might expect as this is set following the standard era. I feel the lack of personal cost associated with power is a little out of character for the setting, this is Cyberpunk by name and heritage but less so in flavour.

I feel I need to mention the art as it's something I'd heard about before getting the book. It's bad. It's made up of photos of dolls with various bits of wiring and tech stuck to them and it looks both really janky and also out of character for the setting. It's not a dealbreaker (I'm assuming you weren't planning on buying this for the art) but I thought it was worth mentioning.

All in all, I think there a better systems out there, but this is workable and has plenty of flavour. It's not classic cyberpunk but it's not trying to be.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk v.3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
by Dominic T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2020 04:42:21

Well this is the GM's Screen Pack.

I own both the pdf version and the physical screen.

I have rated this product at 2 but I would give the physical version another for 3. The screen it's self is well made physcially, heavy duty and good quality and would rate the extra.

Frankly the pdf version is something of a disapointment.

The art on the outside of the GM's screen is cool and all but not much use in a pdf. The Gm's side ... has some of the tables you'll need to run the game but by no means all of them and a bunch more useless art. Oh it's pretty but I want functionalty. I've used this both printed out and the actual physical screen. In both cases I still had to be paging through the rule book to find extra tables. The trickest tables (crit results) are missing whereas how to heal them is. We do get costs for beer and lodging though? Combat in the Witcher is crunchy. I'm happy looking up the price of beer or a room or a hooker for the night but I really could have used the various crit tables right there guys! Frankly if you own the pdf of the main rules it would be better to print out the right tables and use them.

The rules expansion book gives us halflings (booooooo to generic fantasy races) a bunch of npc types (okay I guess) and the new Noble profession (which is pretty good) and some very back of a envelope rules on having a holding of land. The player and gm info is all sort of mashed together and frankly is not all that well edited together.

If I compare this to the only other new GM's screen I've bought lately :- Chaosium's GM's screen pack for Runequest Glorantha. Well it's night and day even at twice the price (for pdf version) it's just so much better. The screen itself has just as much great art but the Gm's side is loaded with really useful information and tables and I didnt have to go looking for extra's more than once in a while. The booklet that comes with it is much larger and has a ton of really well written scenario's and a sandbox setting. Frankly you could get years worth of play out of that thing. And the physical version comparison is even worse as then the price is much closer for two very well made screens. The RQG one is has better info and by being flipped to landscape panels covers a greater estate and just works better, both are of great build quality though, neither is flimsy and feel they's last getting hauled around.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witcher: Easy Mode
by Dominic T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2020 04:10:09

I love dark gritty (but not grimdark) RPG's. I've played a couple of the Witcher Computer Games. I've read some of the books. I've watched and loved the TV series. So the Witcher TTRPG seemed like an obvious choice and a while ago a friend of mine offered to run a game. We've had great fun. I've just recently started running my own game for a different set of players and session 1 was last night and included chunks from "Easy Mode" so this seemed like a good time to review it.

So what is Witcher :- Easy Mode and how good is it?

It's the quick start pack.

First off three pages of Lore. Not really needed if you have soaked up a chunk of the setting but as 2/5 my players had somehow avoided it this was useful. Then there are a bunch of pregen characters and a primer on how to read the character sheet. Very handy. We all rolled up characters but still good to have.

Then there are a cut down version of the various rules to allow a gm to run a simple adventure. These are well presented and fairly easy to use. Be aware that even the cut down rules are quite crunchy.

Then there's a very short adventure. Which gives 3 encounters. Enough for taster at least.

It's a good product. I'd say the weakness is the brevity of the intro scenario. Compared to the Cyberpunk Project Red kit which gives a lot more plot hooks and room for Gm's to play. If you're a real fan of the Witcher I'd say go for the main rules to start with, if you're on the edge then pick this up as pdf and have a go, its free after all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witcher: Easy Mode
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Witcher's Journal
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2020 22:29:35

This is a good supplement for a promising system from a trustworthy publisher, which makes the numerous spelling errors kind of baffling.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Witcher's Journal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Witcher's Journal
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2020 15:24:53

Excellent work by R Talsorian on this one; it's been years since I read through a sourcebook this fast. So, basically what you get here, game mechanics speaking, is a lot more monsters (including a couple categories at the end of higher intelligence monsters you could even play as characters with their lifepaths), some monster components (for the alchemy side of things), an investigation system which I haven't had a chance to try out yet, but looks pretty good, and I do like how they made it so a wide variety of skills can help with the detective work so characters of almost any build could probably find ways to be helpful; and some sample contracts at the end that you could use as player handouts or just give you a pool of ideas to help you make your own.

Where this product really stands out, though, is the "fluff." The book is presented as information gleaned from a discovered journal of a former Grandmaster Witcher. Erland is an interesting character, definitely not just some numbers filed off Gryphon School version of Geralt; I could read an entire book just about him and his adventures. The book begins with Erland's background story in his own words (and gives you an interesting look at the earliest days of the Witchers), and he provides sidebars of his own thoughts on various monsters throughout. Between each category of creature (Necrophages, Relicts, etc) you also get a short story of one of his hunts (and he's definitely Gryphon School so you'll be seeing lots of Signs usage). Even if you aren't into PnP RPGs, maybe you're just a fan of the Witcher universe, this is a highly-recommended book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Witcher's Journal
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2020 15:16:56

Just spent all morning tearing through the 160 page pdf, and I am very impressed!

It starts with 7 full text pages of witcher lore and history, from the perspective of Erland of Larvik, the first Grandmaster of the Gryphon School. Its grounded and feel very usable.

Following that, we're introduced to the new improved stat blocks. I can't overstate how useful it is to have the attack and defence Base scores easily listed, in addition to the Base of their most relevant skills. Past that, monsters are divided into their type, each section starting with a little overview, with notes from our good friend Erland.

DO NOT OVERLOOK the sidebars on these pages, labeled "[Type] Encounters." They're not long, but offer adventure hooks and ideas for how these monsters might naturally fit into an adventure. And honestly, they're just really good ideas and launching points.

The monsters themselves are well thought out, and dripping with personality. The design team clearly wanted to make each of these feel unique to fight, and as a result we see each monster having a few unique abilities, sometimes even 5 or 6.

After every monster type, we're treated to a one page short story of my Gryphon boi Erland hunting and fighting one of the monsters from the section. They're cool and fun and if nothing else, offer another encounter idea to steal.

Next up, Exceptional Monsters. Both True Dragons and Higher Vampires get the deep dive in this book, each getting a multi page lore section, and a multi page lifepath, before their new expanded stat blocks. All of this is very cool and super useful.

Then a short section going over the new components and mutagens. As expected.

The following 9 pages go over the new Investigation system. I need to go over it more, but at first glance, it seems similar to the spirit of the Verbal Combat system. It's interesting, and very complex. You have a new derived stat called Focus, which is tge average between your Will and Intelligence. There's a new damage formula for defeating the mystery (Complexity Damage = Clue Damage Roll – Obfuscation). I'm sure there's some very cool things that could be done with it, but it seems to be centered for a group that prefers rolling dice than role-playing.

The final handful of pages have an array of job postings. Great flavor, great ideas, and are written vague enough to be used wholesale.

TL;DR In summary, great layout, beautiful art. As a GM, I highly recommend it. Its chocked full of useful things, and won't be just a dust collector. As a player, understand that this book is (mechanically) for the person running the game. But, its got OODLES of lore and is a thoroughly enjoyable read for anyone who loves the Witcher universe. For a $15 pdf, its worth every penny. I'll be ordering a solid copy too as soon as I get a bigger bookshelf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by drew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 15:07:18

I really want to love this game. I love the genre, I love the setting. I'm excited for the full version of the game.

As a starter set this product has many good qualities, but it is also lacking in many areas. I ran my first session last night, and we had a blast, but I had to do a lot of house ruling to make up for the lack of detail in the rules of the Jumpstart Kit.

Where to start...

Firstly the writing. It is written in a very conversational tone, which makes for enjoyable casual reading, but the downside is that it is not as useful as a rules reference. Sometimes important rules are kind of tucked away in the conversational sentences.

The rules themselves are a bit all over the place and don't always make sense for the world. For example, a "slice and dice", which is described as a highly dangerous monofiliment whip, but it only does 2d6 damage. Most edgerunners are walking around with at least 11 points of armour (damage reduction), so it wouldn't even hurt a typical character. Furthermore, although they are described as being easily able to slice through any organic material, there's nothing mechanically that gives them any kind of special armour penetration to match the fluff. Firearm damage is also highly variable, and there are no pages with costs or ammo counts or anything like that in the book. There is a range chart, and damage values for different types of guns but that's it. There are rules for burst fire, but no rules for full automatic fire. For some reason a character can attack in melee twice as an action but can only shoot once. I'm not sure why attacking with a melee weapon is so much easier than shooting someone with a firearm?

Armour is quite powerful, and for some reason it is assumed that armour covers your entire body, including your head even if you are just wearing an armoured jacket. A light armoured jacket has a 11 stopping power, and a heavy pistol does 3d6 damage, so a character with a light armour jacket will only rarely be injured by a heavy pistol. A heavy armour jacket has 15 stopping power, so even an assualt rifle, which does 5d6 damage won't hurt that much. One thing I do like is that if the armour does take damage it degrades by a point, so over time it gets weaker and eventually the character will take damage and armour will need to be repaired or replaced.

I should also mention that there are no prices to be found for ANY gear in this book. The cyberware selection is highly limited.

There are also no character creation rules or character advancement rules, so you pretty much are limited to using the pregens, which aren't really even complete because only the special ability of the Netrunner is detailed.

When I ran my game last night, I found myself winging it to make up prices for equipment. I created some house rules for armour pentration, so that some weapons that would otherwise be useless could actually be cool. I also house ruled that armour would only protect the locations it would actually cover (a crazy idea), and I added in a hit location table. All in all, I think these house rules made the game a lot more playable and we had a lot of fun, but that was more a testament to my 30+ years of experience as a GM and having good players than to the rules.

In conclusion, I think this game has a lot of potential, and I hope that the final game delivers on that potential, but I don't think the Jumpstart Kit is really that well done. It is a tease, and and as a GM I found it frustrating to work with because there is so much missing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
by Randoloph K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 09:54:46

Overall great reprint. The only negative were a few torn corners.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk 2.0.2.0. The Second Edition, Version 2.01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 236 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates