DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Post-Apocalypse Sale













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Kazuli K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2019 09:35:32

As a Cyberpunk 2020 aficionado, I can safely say I will only be using the Cyberpunk Red rules from now on. The importance of having streamlined rules cannot be underestimated, particularly for those with a busy work schedule. As a product, the Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit from R. Talsorian Games, delivers on its goal to introduce new people to the hobby and the Cyberpunk universe, so it is worth giving it a try. I also believe veteran players will benefit from using the updated ruleset in their 2020 games. For a more indepth look: Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit Review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
by George S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2019 17:31:50

I have to say that I am a bit disappointed in this. I know it's considered basically a GM screen, but the Lords and Lands made it sound like we'd get some concrete information regarding management of lands and raising private militias or armies.

I'm also a bit perplexed by some of the Noble skills. Most notably the one regarding raising skills.

In short, I think it's a bit overpriced for what we got. Then again, it's 12 ish bucks as of the time I write this. I certainly would be hollering louder if was the "full price" of 25.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Derrick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2019 14:53:47

I got a hold of my phyical copy of the JumpStart Kit while at GenCon this year, and I was pleasently surprised how nice this set was. RTalsorian has REALLY upped their production on the box set and on the interior art, with the entire two book set being full color with tabletop maps, standees The artwork is really top notch. While I haven't played this new iternation of Cyberpunk yet, the rules seem really smooth with some much needed modern tweeking. It is also clear there is much more to come when the full version of Cyberpunk RED is eventually released. It's especially nice to have RTalsorian putting so much effort into this new generation of CP RPGing.

Great to have Cyberpunk back!

~O



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2019 05:25:22

The GM Screen contains useful quick reference tables that, as most games do, have tables that are more scattered than one would like for quick reference. Most importantly (to me) it doesn't commit the cardinal sin of having a weapons/armor table on the GM screen.

The GM Screen includes:

  • Social Standing
  • Bonus Melee Damage & Unarmed
  • Weapon Effects
  • Effect Table
  • Actions
  • Fast Draw
  • Extra Attacks & Defense
  • Diffuclty Checks
  • Example Modifiers
  • Light Level modifiers
  • Ranges & Target DC
  • Human Damage Location
  • Common Cover Table
  • Falling
  • Critical Wounds Table
  • Death Saves
  • Stabilization
  • Stabilizing Criticals
  • Healing Over Time
  • Healing Critical Wounds
  • Healing Hands or Healing Spells
  • Viggor
  • Magic Fumble Table
  • Elemental Fumble Effects
  • Learning Magic
  • Fixing Broken Weapons & Armor
  • Encounters
  • Number of Monsters = Players + 2
  • Curses: Penance & Suffering
  • I.P. Rewards
  • Currency
  • Selling Goods
  • Lodging
  • Food & Drink
  • Services

The Booklet itself contains:

  • People of the Contenint (Quick Reference NPCs)
    • Artisan
    • Criminal
    • Entertainer
    • Laborer
    • Merchant
    • Scholar
  • Hafling Race (Playable)
  • Noble Profession (Playable)
    • Noble Skill Tree
    • Estate Rules
  • Rodwolf's Wagon (New Tiems)
    • Item Descriptions

Some people are complaining about the price, honestly with myself I bought the physical good and got a coupon at a convention making it $5. It's a four star reveiw because I think if I buy a physical good I should just get the PDF.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
by Benoit L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 14:23:36

This is a great GM Screen for the Witcher TRPG!

It also has Lords and Lands an additional and small expansion to the original book.

Good material to have in your game!

Do I wish it was longer? Absolutly, but the GM screen is a must!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 07:01:08

I haven't played 2020 for (coincidentally) well over twenty years. I've been chomping at the bit for a modern edition of it ever since Cyberpunk 2077 and Cyberpunk Red were announced.

Finally, I get a taste of what Mike and team are putting together for the modern era of Cyberpunk, and though I've only skimmed it, I (mostly) love it so far.

It's a peculiar mix of old school and modern RPG sensibilities that streamlines what my corroded memory recalls of 2020. It seems like they've gone to some lengths to pair down some of the unnecessary chaff from 2020's era into something sleeker and simpler (and yet, still crunchy enough to avoid blandness) without losing the flavor of that grand old game.

That said, the production values themselves are sleek, flashy yet somehow understated, and also consistent with the flavor of the past.

I'm eager to put this on the table and see how it all shakes out. Provisionally, it's a 4/5.

But if it plays as fluid as it looks, it will be love. {{Edit}} But not a pure love as I'm not entirely sold on the somewhat post-apocalyptic setting they are going for with the current timeline. It seems to me like they are trying to dial back a bit too much of what I love about the genre to make it more gritty when there was already plenty of room for that. They are, to me, narratively trying to scuff and tarnish the chrome a bit too much. I suspect were I to run this, I'd kick the timeline forward into a new chrome-age rather than the wastebasket Night City is in The Red.

However, I've missed this, and until I got a look at this, I didn't realize how much. We've (my friends and I) done a lot of Shadowrun in our years, but I never quite groked how much I missed the unique taste of Cyberpunk.

Hit the streets choomba. There's a city to burn...once it's been rebuilt so we can tear it all down again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Jonathan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2019 12:58:42

Perfection. Enjoyed my games at GenCon. Can't wait to run it myself and get my hands on the new full game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Jackson F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2019 23:27:37

I used to run campaigns of Cyberpunk 2020 all the time for my TRPG group and during that time I absolutely fell in love with the world that R. Talsorian delivered to us. Needless to say, I was excited to say the least when Cyberpunk Red was announced.

It turned out to be everything I wanted and more!

All of the confusing and needlessly complex parts of CP2020 have been streamlined and made much more player friendly. Netrunning is now a comprehensive and fun class to run, instead of a confusing 40-paged nightmare. Combat is now quick and exciting, allowing players to move through turns in rapid succession instead of calculating "how many bullets hit where" on the target person. All in all, being a player has never been easier or more fun.

GMing has also been made a dream with various different options and play styles provided by R. Talsorian in the one adventure provided by the Jumpstart Kit. This is a great intro for players who want to start GMing in the world of Cyberpunk.

The Rulebook itself is much easier to understand than 2020's core book. Necessary tidbits are bolded or given massive text boxes. They also provide examples for all skills and netrunner abilities, getting rid of the chance for misinterpretation by players and GMs. The art is gorgeous and the layouts are sleek. The Rulebook provides you everything you need, and keeps you wanting more.

The World Book provides amazing and shocking details about the events that have occured before and during the "Time of the Red". The amazing art from the Rulebook carries itself over into the World Book, continuing the trend of sleek and edgy stylization that has been made a staple of Cyberpunk. A must read for GM's and a fun insight into the world for players.

Overall, I am beyond impressed by the quality that has been provided by R. Talsorian Games. I can not recommed the Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit enough!

See you in Night City, Choombahs!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Gary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2019 22:57:59

I dont normally write reviews so I'm going to present this in bullet points.

This as somehow maintained its gritty feeling while still streamlining the mechanics. Wow

I love how this is written. Straight and to the point. So many rpg products I read and play these days are so overwritten and their content stretched to increase page count hat it detracts from the content. This product is efficient and I love that

the art is desperate, gritty, dark, evocative, inspiring, beautiful and maintains the feeling of Cyberpunk.

Net running my biggest fear was that net running would be slow and unplayable. Holy smokes I'm 100% sure that we will have net runners in mygames. I love what they have done with the mechanics and the lore to support those mechanics.

Combat still feels deadly but also feels streamlined and spead up. Fantastic.

mechanics are very logical and easy to understand and use at the table without sacrificing that gritty dark future Cyberpunk feel.

Pre Gen characters are great but still provide some customization. I can see keeping them around for quick pick up pcs or npcs.

This product has surpassed my expectations in every way. I haven't played Cyberpunk in over 20 years and I can't wait to use this in the coming. weeks



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2019 13:54:33

There's a whole heap of goodies in the download or in the box, depending on which version you have. Apparently the box also contains dice, otherwise there's no difference in the contents. Two books, reference cards, maps, pregenerated characters and some standees... everything you need to leap back into the near future.

Where to start? The 45-page Rulebook seems promising. This begins with The View From the Edge, an essay that sets out the stall of what it means to be cyberpunk. This paints the picture from the earliest days, when cyberpunk was the province of science-fiction authors, through the fictional alternate history that permeates the game from its first incarnation as Cyberpunk 2013 and then Cyberpunk 2020 - don't worry if you are not familiar with these games, you'll get the idea. However, the Fourth Corporate War has cut a swathe through everything, and much of what the cyberpunk of 2020 thought was normal is no more. Even Night City was a casualty, a nuke apparently. We're now in 2045, but there's still a place for the hip, freerolling, wired-in cyberpunk, operating more on the wrong side of the law than the right.

A brief precis of what a role-playing game is, for those who don't know, and a glossary of streetslang - you gotta sound right, choombatta, and then on to section 2: Soul and the New Machine. This takes a closer look at the philosophy, the look and feel, of cyberpunk... and reminds that, a major corporate war and the use of nuclear weapons later, there are few if any vestiges of civilization that would be familiar to people in society today. Players need to remember that it's personal, style over substance, attitude is everything, and you need to live on the edge. Oh, and rules are there to be broken. Then there's a look at Roles (read: character classes). There are nine: Rockerboys, Solos, Netrunners, Execs, Techs, Lawmen, Fixers, Medias, and Nomads (not all are covered in the Jumpstart). Next an overview of the character sheet, follwed by details of what everything means in terms of playing the character game mechanics-wise. The skills used for the pre-generated characters are explained.

Next up, 3: Lifepath. This is the system for generating a background for a character, and even with pre-generated ones there is scope for putting your own spin on the character that you are going to play. At each stage you may choose an option or roll for it. There's an example of how to do this, along with explanations of what this means for the player... and how it provides a bit of fun for the GM as well. All that backstory ready to exploit!

Then comes 4: Putting the Cyber into the Punk. This looks at the uses and abuses of cyberware, how to be stylish about your enhancements, and how the end-point of the exercise is survival - yours. With a few scary notes on cyberpsychosis, there are details of the various types of cybernetic enhancement you can have. Just remember: it's as much about fashion as it is about utility. We then move on to 5: Getting it Down. This covers how you actually play the game, when its time to use game mechanics rather than role-play to advance the plot. A lot covers combat because, let's face it, that's when you need to get the dice out... and of course it's a part of the game that most people enjoy. There's also a bit about task resolution, especially opposed tasks, when you want to use one of your skills to accomplish something.

Next, my favourite bit: 6: Netrunning in the Time of the Red. This explains the gear you need to go netrunning and how to use it, both in-game and in terms of game mechanics. This includes getting into brawls in the Net, which can be as deadly as doing so in the meat world. There are also times the Netrunner will have to go along with the rest of the infiltration team and brave the dangers of that sort of combat as well. This ends with an example Netrun, then back to real-world combat with 7: Thursday Night Throwdown, a variant on the original Friday Night Firefight rules. It's all an aid to streamline combat, to give you all the thrills without getting bogged down in the minutae of the rules. An alternate to brawling, the use of Reputation as a competitive sport, is also covered here. Finally there are summary cards of each of the pregenerated characters.

Speaking of pregenerated characters, there are 6 of them, with rather silly names - Torch the Tech, or Grease the Fixer... well, you may change those to something a bit more sensible if you prefer. Each comes with a page of backstory, character portrait and a full character sheet, as separate cards to give to each player.

The second book (or PDF) provided is the World Book. This provides 50-odd pages of background, setting, and adventure, starting with 1: Welcome to the Time of the Red. More detailed recent history explaining what the Fourth Corporate War was and how much damage it did to the world you now inhabit. The United States is fragmented, no longer a superpower. Night City, even 20 years later, is still a mess. The rest of the world is also in a state of flux. A good chance to make your mark, you might think, if you survive long enough, that is. Megacorps also suffered, but there are still corporations flexing the muscles pretty much unchecked. Then 2: Dark Future Countdown gives a detailed timeline of events from the 1990s onwards to the present day of 2045.

It may be battered, but Night City is still there, according to section 3. This gives a potted history from its foundation in 1994 to the present, bombs included. It's in the middle of a veritable fury of rebuilding, plenty of opportunity there. Just avoid the Hot Zone Wasteland, where the central business district used to be. Plenty here on politics, public services and law and order... yes, there is some! The next section 4: Everyday Things gives the lowdown on living there, aimed particularly at newcomers (which players will be, even if their characters are not... it's often best to play the characters as new arrivals too, so both can learn together about their new home). Vehicles, weapons, getting the news, shopping, it's all here. The food sounds terrible, though.

We then move into GM territory with 5: Running Cyberpunk Red. Plenty of good ideas about how to make the environment come to life for your group, opposition they might face, activities they can engage in. There are some sample encounters you can throw in whatever is happening, whatever the characters are trying to do. Finally, there is a fully-fledged adventure, The Apartment. The basic idea is that all the characters in the soon-to-become party live in the same apartment block, one of the few privately-owned (by one of them) blocks in the entire city. Someone wants to change that, gobble it up... and so the party needs to unite and fight for their home. There are notes on the other residents, and suggestions as to what might happen: pick and mix as you choose. There are some plans too. But that's not all. A collection of Screamsheets present more ideas for further adventures which you'll have to flesh out, three of them.

This contains all you need to get going, to see if the new version of Cyberpunk appeals. It doesn't matter if you don't know the original game, but if you do it moves the timeline along in a logical and believable manner. If you don't, just jump in and enjoy the delights that await!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2019 10:07:29

I have thoroughly enjoyed the new RED update to the Cyberpunk lore and gameplay. Can't wait for the official release of the product. Until then, I'll be playing The Witcher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2019 18:31:08

I recently started Cyberpunk 2020, but I had some trepidations on using it in the future. Mainly due to the netrunning. Cyberpunk: Red fixed netrunning in the right way. Instead of the netrunner having their own hour long netrunning session, Cyberpunk: Red has allowed netrunning to occur simulatniously to what is happening in meat-space. The only criticism that I have is in relation to Thursdaynight Throwdown. I am a big fan of the level of the complexity and level of detail in Fridaynight Firefight. I completely get the purpose of simplification of the combat system in order to facilitate the retention of new players, but I hope that the Corerule book comes with some optional rules to use something similar to Fridaynight Firefight. I am going to keep Slammin' it on with this kit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit
by Dwight L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2019 16:49:18

Everything V3 should of been in my opinion, the layout and writing is the best of all the Cyberpunk products I have seen to date. The reference screen is where all the game data I need to run games is at. Though only a glance as I just purchased it, I only see the weakness that I hope the full version will cover in being not enough Netrunning or Cyberware material. I had hope also in this version maybe the Mantis Blades seen in the Cyberpunk 2077 demos would have been included. Maybe in the Full Version a conversion for all the previous Cyberpunk 2020 Cyberware will be included as well. Overall I am really impressed and look forward to a full coverage of the game in future products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
by SMiki L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2019 16:20:33

16 pages, of which only 10 contain actual content. In half the price of the core book, which has 336 pages. Hell, goddamn Easy Mode has 32 pages, and is free. I don't believe what I bought. I don't believe you are actually selling this.

Don't get me wrong, I love The Witcher universe, I love your game. But this is absurd.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lords and Lands: a Witcher TRPG Expansion
by Levente K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2019 13:15:48
  • 10 pages of content for the price of the corebook
  • the gm screen contains a bunch of tables and info that could be looked up from the book when needed, maybe once per session, or already calculated into the charactersheets, however misses the most used tables like melee fumble table or critical wounds or verbal combat

This is poor value for the money and a great disappointment :( .



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 236 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates