DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Somnus Domina: The Sword Saint (5e Class)
by Troy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2021 20:12:38

Clicks tongue Nice. This is honestly a nice class. I do wish there was a bit more space between some of the sub-classes starting, but aside from that little note, the content and variety inside is wonderful. Absolutely worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnus Domina: The Sword Saint (5e Class)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Somnus Domina: The Sword Saint (5e Class)
by Ariel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2021 13:53:09

Prefacing this by saying that I'm by no means an expert on game design, balance, etc. Just from my personal experiences DMing for a Sword Saint character, theorycrafting, etc.

In the base class, I think every part of it is amazing and fairly balanced, with only the Spiritual Armor feature feeling a little underwhelming compared to other options available. I would love if the capstone feature was a bit more interesting, but being able to mix and match even more focus techniques is already insanely powerful and games rarely reach level 20, so I can't complain too much.

In the Paths of Devotion that come with the base class, there are a few features that define the subclass and make them interesting to me in their own ways.

1.) Way of Blue Metal is insanely versatile and it's ability to select focus techniques from other subclasses only makes it better with time as more subclasses are released. It's versatility makes it almost impossible to not be a viable option and you have so many ways to build the character. I don't believe it's broken in anyway, lacking the fighting style that other classes get as well as being a bit crit hungry to allow you to make effective use of all your options keeps it from going to crazy, especially with the lack of an extended critical range. 2.) Way of Musashi is, in theory, insane DPS with the ability to 'hack' your attack action, but that only lasts for as long as you have focus points to spend. With no built in focus point recovery like Way of Blue Metal, the Scatter Petals focus technique could quickly drain your focus points and leave you feeling as a somewhat worse fighter. In any fight you have the potential to go nova at any time, but you have to balance the desire to tear through an enemy's HP with wondering if there is maybe something even more threatening coming up next. 3.) Way of Rust is one I was insanely excited for, being a huge fan of the character the subclass is based on, but it ends up feeling a little empty to me. The roleplay side is built in, your character's life is essentially on the clock from the moment you take this class, which I love. However, the defining feature is the 'Body of Steel' feature at level 11, though I feel it's a bit late in level progression, and makes the subclass seem a little undesireable in my opinion. 4.) Way of Tadakatsu is the one I'm least confident on saying much about. It looks like an interested supporting/tank sword saint, but doesn't have any features that necessarily 'pop out' to me when compared to others. 5.) Way of the Ghost, another subclass that I don't feel confident on saying much about. Interesting, nothing seems overpowered or unnecessary, it fits what it's trying to emulate. I don't believe I have much to say beyond that. 6.) Way of Tomoe is another favorite of mine, being different from other Sword Saints in being designed for range. I wonderful archer subclass, though the focus techniques seem a little underwhelming. It doesn't quite have as much potential to go nova, since it's first major feature is seemingly all or nothing. Thunder Lotus has potential to add a ton of damage to a single attack, but if they make the save, they don't even take half damage, which can make the player feel like they wasted their focus points. 7.) Way of Yamato is the subclass that I have a strange love/hate relationship with. It's, in my opinion, definitely good, but I feel some of the features don't work well together. The main example of this is the Blue Crescent technique, which would seemingly work great with a Glaive, or similar reach weapon that does slashing damage, but then the dueling fighting style requiring using a weapon in one hand makes it hard to justify using a reach weapon. Other than that, I think it's super cool and am looking forward to playing it whenever I get a chance!

Overall, I think the Sword Saint is an amazing class that captures the exact feeling I love in tons of characters. Each subclass has interesting built-in roleplay that can help in deciding how a character would act and what their goals should, not to the extent that a Paladin's oath can, but it's something I love in classes.

I will hopefully review the other subclasses when I get the time.

A small edit: Realized something that for some reason or another, I just decided was impossible to do. I realize now that it's possible to combine both Blue Crescent and Wind Chain to make the former more effective when not wielding a reach weapon. I still feel like using 3 focus points is a bit much, especially at early levels, but it does solve some of my complaints about the Way of Yamato



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nat19's Trial of Heroes Handbook (5th Edition)
by Jade C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2021 16:27:14

Got this a bit ago and have been working on organizing a campaign for it since then, it's a really well detailed book and a lot of fun! It even helps explain fate lore in general which is nice, since we all know how confusing that can be. Extremely excited to see the second one of these! I'll be getting it for sure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nat19's Trial of Heroes Handbook (5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Somnus Domina: Way of the Progenitor (5e Path of Devotion)
by Edward C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2021 22:13:27

Very fun and works with the fantasy of the class and what its going for, the abilities are also mostly easy to understand so you shouldn't have problems playing it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnus Domina: Way of the Progenitor (5e Path of Devotion)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Devils Might Surrender: College of Terpsichore (5e Bardic College)
by Roland B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2021 22:55:56

Amazing job Logan, I love it so much. I can't wait to be able to use this in a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devils Might Surrender: College of Terpsichore (5e Bardic College)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trial of Heroes: The Magus (5e Class)
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2021 08:51:36

The Magus Subclasses have so much variety and potential. You could play a game with an entire party of magus and it wouldn't get one-note. i already have a Magus character made, and after showing one of my players the Magus PDF, they instantly decided on the Astromancy subclass and i'm planning to give them a class-changing scene in a few sessions.

There are a few minor grammatical errors, but nothing that stops you from understanding the material. I appreciate the Laidlaw brand and hope i get the chance to win/purchase more homebrewed goodness soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trial of Heroes: The Magus (5e Class)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Somnus Domina: Anntiqe (5e Race)
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2021 03:36:35

The anntiqe race are an absolute marvel, and a cool take on elementals. Within a day, i already had a frost anntiqe warlock brewed up and ready for a game that's still a few months away from now.

Also Nat19 is my favorite dnd group, so to have a piece of that is awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnus Domina: Anntiqe (5e Race)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Somnus Domina: Feats & Races Pack I (5e)
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2021 18:45:44

I really like the ideas behind a lot of these, though some of the races need to be balanced depending on the campaign. My only complaint is that it would help if the depiction's available of the race's was on the same page as their description instead of the way it's formated.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Somnus Domina: Feats & Races Pack I (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Somnus Domina: Subclass Pack I (5e)
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2020 12:53:49

I could go on for hours on all my love for Dreg Letter alone but instead I'm so glad I choose to get the whole pack. This subclass pack has given me so much temptation to try classes I normally avoid out of personal prefrences like Bards and sorcerers just because the subclasses look so fun to play! Everything seems pretty well balanced and I fully plan to play each subclass as soon as I find a good oppurtunity to build a character with them. I'm currently playing my first Pact of Eidolos Warlock and its the most fun I've had running a warlock in a good while.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Somnus Domina: Subclass Pack I (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Somnus Domina: Feats & Races Pack I (5e)
by Robert B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2020 12:48:33

My players and I LOVE most of the new options. We did find the Kaijou a bit powerful even with recommended changes but it was close enough that we can house rule a few very minor tweaks to fit our table. Outside of that our table has perfect fun running these races. (My personal favorites being Kitsadria and Hannyou) and multiple of my players have loved the idea of Anntique as new elemental races



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Somnus Domina: Feats & Races Pack I (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nat19's Trial of Heroes Handbook (5th Edition)
by Ella R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2020 23:17:23

I read this, and it's really good. So much fun. It really helps spark brainstorms of ideas. I been wanting to do a campiagn along these lines for years, until watching Nat19 & reading this, I was little overwhelmed about how to go about it. I always loved myths, legends & history. A world where secret orders of magi, and summoned heroes collide, is the coolest. Having rules to help create such a place, is such a relief. I tend to over analyse stuff, so... yeah...

After I read this I spent hours crossing referencing lore and looking more into the setting, it's quite the rabbit hole, so much is there but it's nice to been able to use the handbook as grounding agent, I think, it's very easy for me to get caught up in the details & have trouble articulating the bigger picture.

This handbook also has great clear advice about how to run the setting, I like the clear breakdown, quite easy to understand. The way of handling guardians super helpful to figuring out appropriate power levels, also the advice on the starting before a trial of heroes, the summoning ritual rules are very interesting & how to run a trial of heroes in regards to npc Keepers is great.

It even gives me ideas about other campaign ideas, I've been stuck on & how to better visualise or handle them. It was so much fun to read & super helpful! It makes me so happy, and I'm certain many others who read this will be happy upon doing so. I hope this review was approriately constructive & informative, too.

Thank you so much for creating this, it is such a great resource and for all your hardwork.

P.S. Also thanks to the artists who worked on the art, the art is amazing! The art of Tomoe & Orla look both awesome & breath-taking, in particular! I really like their designs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nat19's Trial of Heroes Handbook (5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nat19's Trial of Heroes Handbook (5th Edition)
by dylan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2020 13:13:21

this is a great book that i will be useing for alot of things. the main thing is it is very deltailed inmaking your own skills and can serve as a great base for when your making Servants or just a good idea of the typemoon world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nat19's Trial of Heroes Handbook (5th Edition)
by Anthony S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2020 07:39:30

Supper excited to read through this. I especially love the artwork from your stream that you included!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates