DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Crisp Line • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 12:49:26

More or less than human? - a Mephisto review

The Crisp Line

Fate worlds usually have one or two central ideas, and in the case of The Crisp Line, this is summed up in the subtitle DNA is not our destiny. In the near future, genetic engineering and, in particular, the CRISPR/CAS gene scissors have been advanced. In this brave new world exist genetically modified persons (GMPs), which come in two varieties. On the one hand, there are the perizygotic GMPs (Perries for short), who were optimized before they were born and, while they appear like normal humans, are not only improved, but theoretically pass these improvements on to their offspring. On the other hand, those who did not get this advantage at birth can have themselves optimized afterward - with risks and side effects. Of course, this development also has social consequences, with GMPs being viewed rather critically. Nevertheless, the first genetic modification is not the last for many, even if there is a risk of ending up as a mutant monster.

Genetic enhancements come as packages named after the animals from which the traits are taken: the gorilla package makes you stronger, the axolotl package more robust. Gameplay-wise, the packages improve stats, offer stunts, and change appearance through mutations. During the game, more packages can be acquired - with the risk of becoming less and less human. So naturally, such characters are suitable as agents who complete missions in this cyberpunk setting to get money for further improvements.

As usual, the book offers an adventure in which players witness an operation against the local GMP scene. They encounter a conspiracy between politicians, organized crime bosses, and free agents.

The Crisp Line has an exciting hook that is coherently implemented rules-wise, even if the number of enhancement packs is limited. However, the book focuses on the one aspect of the game, so the broader setting can (and must) be developed by the individual group. As the adventure provides a fitiin introduction to the setting, so The Crisp Line provides a solid starting point for Fate players interested in cyberpunk settings.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Crisp Line • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Straw Boss • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 12:47:01

Familiars in an unfamiliar world - a Mephisto review

Straw Boss

In a world where supernatural forces coexist with humanity, it is up to a cult to keep this threat at bay. This cult is organized into various cells that operate in secret. Its members not only know that alien entities exist, but as a sign of their power, each member binds such a being to himself as a familiar. The player characters belong to the scholars who have grown up within one of the cult's compounds and who have bonded with a familiar in order to gain the necessary power to face their opponents. The cult has been around since the days of John Dee, and its central tenet is that belief can shape reality - with dangerous consequences....

In Straw Boss, players create characters that are part of the cult. They know about supernatural influences in the world, and each of them is bound to a familiar. The familiar is a supernatural entity with whom the character makes a pact to gain power - but of course, this power comes at a price. Thus, the character creation with the usual aspects also revolves around this familiar in particular. Likewise, the common bond of the group is also in the foreground.

Rules for controlling the familiar are introduced, which is defined by its Vice and Virtue and uses the approaches of Fate Accelerated in terms of rules.

Thus equipped, the players arrive in a world altered by supernatural influences, and their task is to stop the worst dangers. There are people who stumble upon the secrets that the scholars also know about and thus become a danger with their magic. On the other hand, some entities act independently in the world or push to enter it.

A central rule concept is the corruption die, which can be added as a bonus die. In a roll, the four best dice are used for the player. However, the use of the bonus die causes corruption, and thus there is a risk that the familiar will take over the player character's body. This is solved by turning the character sheet upside down in the game, which brings the familiar's game statistics into play.

Of course, a ready-to-play adventure is included. Here the player characters must follow the trail of chaos left by a truck-driving preacher.

Straw Boss offers two interesting aspects defining this Fate world. On the one hand, the game world presents the fascinating conflict between the cult on one side and the supernatural forces on the other. In the adventure, it alludes to a twisted interpretation of Christian mythology (which is certainly not appropriate for players who dislike movies like Dogma). The idea of the familiars and the shifting control is well-implemented rules-wise. Even though this setting leaves room in many places for the gamemaster to fill in the details, as is usual for these Fate worlds, it offers a fascinating glimpse into a strange world. In my view, this makes Straw Boss one of the Fate worlds worth recommending.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Straw Boss • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood on the Trail • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Rebekah T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 12:43:24

Absolutely one of the best systems I've found for a brief campaign! The players loved the mix of survivalist and absurdist problems that arise solely from the premise.

Both campaigns that I've run using this system, I've used the prewritten scenario, but because there are several options to choose from when it comes to encounters, it was fun for both myself and the players, since it was a different experience everytime.

When introducing people to the Fate: Core system, this is one of my favorites. It's simple, grounded, and straightforward, and a good jumping off point to explore the more complex supplements such as Venture City or Prism.

The only criticism is that I found myself ignoring the rules for wagon trains and stopovers, since I found them unnecessary for a worthwhile experience. But overall, my players and I have never had any complaints with this supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood on the Trail • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tachyon Squadron • Inside the Dominion of Unity
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2021 12:17:53

The Good New Type of Ship detailed Two new factions detailed Some good new modular equipment for your ships

The Bad The book only contains 4 pages of information about the culture and setting of the Dominion of Unity. Of those pages it uses 2 of them to tell you that the Dominion is Capitalist / anti-religion / racist / anti-lgbt. It also says that "exactly the same-thing" applies to the good guys, they just feel bad about it.Then it includes a half-page disclaimer telling you to not do any of that as a GM because your players likely won't enjoy you acting like a bigot towards them. So really this book only includes 2 useful pages of world building information on the Dominion of Unity.

The book explicitly tells you how to play this game. You should essentially play as a rebel force and the Dominion is "unambiguously villains". This severly limits any GM creativity with the setting if you follow the book as written.

Final thoughts Tachyon Squadron is an interesting application of the Fate system to a dogfighting starship combat realm. I could definitly see applying the system to a Battlestar Galactica / Star wars Rogue Squadron/ etc type game.

Unfortunatly the setting is essentially trying to force the GM to make a game where they make all characters bigots and 1-dimensional racists. I don't know anyone who would actually want to play a game like that so quite a lot of the world building is just not usable.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron • Inside the Dominion of Unity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood on the Trail • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2021 12:13:54

Wild West vampires - a Mephisto review

Blood on the trail

Vampires in the Wild West - that would be the short summary of the Fate world Blood on the trail. Two ideas collide in this game world: on the one hand, it's about the development of the American West, when wagon trains of settlers set out to claim land there and find a new home. The other idea is that vampires have also found their way to North America and lie in wait for their victims. For them, the wagon trains represent an ideal target.

Blood on the trail first introduces the setting and outlines the background, which is partly based on historical developments, but in addition, mixes in the vampire stories and also sprinkles in some bizarre rumors. The vampires, who are the opponents of the settlers here, are presented in different variations. Among others, there are feral vampires hunting as animal-like packs or the hungry ones that seek their victims among their own family. There is even some kind of swarm vampires that act as a single organism. While this gives the game master some options to adapt the primary enemies to his players, on the player side, it is first necessary to define the wagon train, in addition to creating the characters. The wagon train is described by several statistics such as size, speed, supplies, etc. Next, leaders - which can be player characters but do not have to - are selected for the various resources. Important non-player characters are also specified at this point.

The journey to the West proceeds over several stages, each consisting of legs of the journey and stop-overs. Depending on the setup, the game master can make the campaign longer or shorter. Thus, each leg of the journey has its own challenges, problems, or opportunities that confront the player characters on a daily basis. At a certain point, the main threat is added: the attacks by the vampires. With Seven Brides for seven vampires, the book also provides a short sample campaign that makes the setting a bit more accessible and immediately playable. As with most Fate worlds, Blood on the trail is a rather unusual setting that combines two different ideas. Thus, the inclined game master will find ideas for the wagon train scenario as well as approaches to include vampires in his game. However, the way the setting is described, this unusual mixture of ideas seems coherent. From my point of view, Blood on the trail is a fitting setting for a smaller horror campaign with a unique background.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood on the Trail • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

War of Ashes: Fate of Agaptus
by gonzalo e. p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2021 14:49:08

Great game. The writing is superb, funny and clear. The ruleset is a really cool implementation of fate accelerated with some rule I've never seen in another fate game (like weight rules). The game itself is preety good and easy to learn. Easily one of the best fate powered games I´ve seen, second only to Atomic Robo and head to head with dresden files rpg



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of Ashes: Fate of Agaptus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thirsty Sword Lesbians
by Cannibal H. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2021 11:29:14

"Thirsty Sword Lesbians is far from just a name. It’s a game that explores queer feelings and identity extensively, in all their beauty. Even when that exploration may get rough, the game has done all it can to ensure that you are safe in this journey. It may take inspiration from other systems, but what it does with that inspiration is completely original." - Maria Fanning

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/10/16/thirsty-sword-lesbians-kickstarter-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thirsty Sword Lesbians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Nice! Thanks for bringing in the CHG review.
Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2021 19:18:30

Save Game a World of Adventure for Fate Core (60 pages - free/pay what you want at DriveThruRPG) is a setting for Fate (DriveThru – same price). It contains an explanation of the setting, five adventure outlines, and 25 stat blocks. Save Game takes your player characters on a strange trip inside an electronic world.Their digital home threatened, the famed heroes of the 8-bit generation fight against the Glitch. So, there is a wide variety of adventures that you can have with this supplement.

I soloed it with a solo engine I have been testing out. I played this with an agent, a legionnaire, a psion, a priestess, and a bard. To even save the princess, my characters needed more information which was known by a villain with mood swings. Yes, he did cause some problems, but the adventurers were able to get into the inventor’s basement, beat up the clockwork guardian, and get some needed items. Later, they entered Orianna’s fortress (not the opera entrance). They had to deal with guards, traps, Count Chord, and clockwork replicas of themselves. After taking massive damage, they tried to lead the replicas to a trap, but a bad roll sent the adventurers down a chute to face Princess Orianna. Gatti the bard used her rapport skill against Orianna’s vanity with a success. The princess took off the mask and was now back to normal. Great fun! Your turn. Good luck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Save Game • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thirsty Sword Lesbians
by Lilith G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2021 11:07:49

Fun looking game with easy to learn mechanics. Really nice getting to see a game where several lesbian tropes I myself represent, and often see day to day, are not only represented but celebrated. I hope to see this book get a ton of use in the future, as this seems like a perfect game for several of my friend groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thirsty Sword Lesbians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, Lilith!
On the Wall • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 13:31:56
Dystopian teenage super mutants - a Mephisto review

On the wall

What would happen if a part of humanity suddenly developed superpowers - that is the question that the Fate world On the Wall takes on, based on the comic of the same name. In the world of On the Wall, these super mutants are usually not the heroes who fight some super villains in colorful capes to the cheers of the population. Instead, the sudden appearance of superpowers has led much of the people to fear these mutants, so harsh laws have been introduced to control them. A central measure is that teenagers who develop these powers must visit special schools to learn how to harness their powers. This way, their powers should be kept in check. Of course, the player characters are such teenagers, who each have a single superpower (which doesn't necessarily have to be spectacular). The game offers a mix of superhero stories, dystopian governmental control, and teenage chaos.

Accordingly, the book provides a few simple rules for playing with superpowers and briefly introduces the world - though one gets the impression that it would help to know the original comics. From my point of view, On the Wall is a fascinating take on the superpowers theme, providing an exciting twist when mixed with the dystopian elements.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
On the Wall • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster of the Week
by Blu L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2021 15:23:01

I'm new to TTRPGs and Monster of the Week was such a fun game to be my first campaign. I love the collaborative way that the characters are bilt - You each get to be a distinct indiviual, but collaborating on skillsets while picking playbooks really helps make each character feel unique and like they've got a valuable skillset. As much as solid numbers helped quantify everything when I was first dipping my toe into TTRPGs, it got a little exhausting and intimidating to be constantly running numbers in my head. The PbtA system keeps things lean, adds fun complications for dice rolls, and leaves more room for character in my head than numbers. It takes the things I like best about LARPing and brings it right to a TTRPG. Quite enjoying it, thinking about running a game for some discord friends sometime!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster of the Week
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Condensed
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 18:01:40

FATE is definitely amognst my favorite games, probably top three. While a FAE fangoy, I had yo take a small atep back: I love the depth and structural granularity of Condensed, to the point it mad me re evaluate my opinion on the only true Fate version (there's only one Fate). Condensed is a brilliant build, takes the most out of EH experiences and design, with smart solution to some of the problems you might step onto going straiht core.

Ths might reliably be the ultimate Fate build.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Condensed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Condensed
by Francesco V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2021 10:58:02

The perfect blend of Fate Core and Fate Accelerated. Slim, cheap and yet greatly customizable and clearly explained in few concise pages. I especially loved they got rid of the multi value stress boxes, which I frankly always found tactically useless and always counter-intuitive to explain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
by sean c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2021 00:00:08

My complete review is here, but this is the beginning, which captures the gist of it:

Fate Core can handle virtually any “fiction-first” story you want to tell. By that I mean you say what you’re doing based on your concept of your character and then figure out how to model it, instead of consulting your character sheet to see what mechanical options you have. Fate Core is brilliant, but for me it’s too big a book, with too many options (“dials”) for its proposed play style. I’ve never run it. (I have played it a few times.) What I have run and played the hell out of is Fate Accelerated (FAE), which is near-perfect for seamless, cinematic storytelling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
by Marco R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2021 21:06:02

Not much to say, but... Along with the italian Not the End and the incredible Cortex Prime, this is on my personal olympus. Fats, super fun, easy to grasp (hard to master!), customisable, dynamic, probably better than the Core build in terms of accessibility and usability. Fate requires a huge mind shift and the Book of Hanz is highly recommended before playing, but Fate Accelerated is a perfect gateway and, probably, the perfect game in the Fate product line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 490 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates