DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Warlock!
by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2021 14:39:44

Warhammer (1e) + Fighting Fanatsy + d20 = Warlock!

As a fan of all of the above, I really enjoy this game. Fast and light but still has depth. The additional books all add some nice extra choices as well. Highly recommend Warlock!

The only things keeping this from being a 5 star title for me is the interior art and font used. I would prefer this with no art vs. what's inside currently. Also a font change would be good as the current one seems a little flat or lifeless.

(Matter of tatse, I know.)

If Warlock! gets a revised edition in the future, I'd like to suggest getting Zhu Bajiee (Zhu Industries) to do all the art.

If that happens, I burn all of my other books and only play Warlock! Lol...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warlock!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warlock!
by jerremy m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2021 10:20:32

A dark and gritty Euro style game that does so many things right. I was a little disappoined by the short spell list but since it's so simple adding my own spells, which I did, was exceptionally easy. I've already purchased all of the supplemental material that's been released, which is a rarity for me, and I plan to get anything else that has to do with this little gem. If you like the old version of Warhammer Fantasy then this is certainly going to be your taste in gaming. If you're looking to get away from overly done epic style systems, then I recommend this one, too. It's been a while since I've come across a game that's this well done and sperked my curiosity as this one has but I'm definitely glad that I did. Go and buy it, it's just that good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warpstar! Hegemony
by Adam C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2021 16:16:17

Awesome book for introducing military adventures into Warpstar. The overall structure of the Nova guard makes for some great story potential. the nova guard careers are amazing and all compliment each other very well to make for an interesting party of player characters where everyone has their own role in the group. The arsenal of weapons, armor ans vehicles are all brutal and interesting. you also get a giant table of mission hooks to keep you busy for a long time, as well as a sandbox adventure and setting in the back of the book.

overall this book is fantastic for anyone who wants to incorporate space marine/old school 40k/starship troopers/doom elements into their warpstar game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warpstar! Hegemony
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warlock! Compendium 2
by Sebastián G. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2021 06:39:05

I've been using Compendium 2 as much as the Core Rulebook for the past two months. It has all the modular rules you need to bring base Warlock! to a Renaissance dark-er game, and a very cool alternative carrer advancement system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlock! Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warpstar!
by Henry A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2021 22:42:53

Like the fantasy incarnation of these rules, this ruleset is light-weight and tight. It's well made and the art inside has that early-Rogue Trader vibe I love.

You could easily use this set with some of the Traveller books (I'd recommend "Mercenary" for this and most other sci-fi rules)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warpstar!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warlock!
by Sebastian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2020 22:15:35

Fantastic little game that's big on fun and options. Whereas Fighting Fantasy (great and important game that it is) always felt a bit incomplete, Warlock! manages to feel fully featured, yet light. Warlock! is largely inspired by Fighting Fantasy, but adds some elements of that other, "Grimdark" RPG. And the combination works. The core mechanic is a simple d20+Skill, 20 or better succeeds, which is cool. Skills and careers round out your character and let them interact with the world of Warlock! And the presentation is great as well. I bought the hardback, which is compact, high quality, and full of retro-awesome fantasy art. It's very well-supported so far. I can't recommend this enough. "Grim-lite" gaming at its finest!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlock!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warlock!
by Sebastián G. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2020 21:14:46

I've run Warlock! for around four weeks now, and is the best light-rules, dark, low fantasy system I've played. If you are looking for something in this genre that allows you to have fast games, easy incorporation of new players, low-entry barrier, this game is for you. It keeps the flavor of old-school dark fantasy but it streamlines the heavy rulings without losing the mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warpstar! Omoron
by Pablo A. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2020 12:44:31

Nice starting setting and supplement for Warpath! with focus in the warp and remote exploration, some equipment and all you need to quick start a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warpstar! Omoron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warlock!
by Jakob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2020 05:26:18

Warlock has become my go-to gritty fantasy game ... okay, I've only played two sessions with it as of yet, but I'm pretty sure it will keep its promise of greatness in the long run, too. Like another great recent rpg, Daniel Sell's Troika!, the rules are in the tradition of a venerable series of British solo game books, and if you've ever been to Firetop Mountain or to the City of Thieves, you know what I'm talking about. The setting is inspired by another great classic of British roleplaying, Peacefeather FRP or whatever it was called. So, in terms of rules we get a very simple d20+skill value roll high system, that turns into an d20+skill value opposed check in combat, with the punchline being that whoever roles higher does damage, even if she or he didn't initiate the exchange. That means that on pretty much every exchange, someone takes damage, which makes for fast and furious combat. There's some additional stuff like the person who initiated an attack getting a bonus, but that is pretty much it, and if you think about it a little closer, you'll notice how this already takes care of things like multiple attacks, two-weapons fighting and all of these other things that tend to need spot rules in other systems. Setting-wise, the meat is in the character careers with their short, darkly humorous fluff texts and two mal tables each to roll background events on. It's perfect for just sitting your players down, having them roll up characters and then see where everything goes from there. Magic might take a little getting used to, with spells being actual physical scrolls that a wizard or priest needs at hand to perform them. The pay what you want Grimoire for Warlock expands on the context and also provides some fluff that makes this notion ring more true. Your wizards will have no choice but to go adventuring to get their hands on new spells ... If you need something traditional and rules-lite that covers you for all kinds of more or less gritty low-fantasy and isn't mired in D&D-type levelling, class restricitions, HP creep and "featism", definitely check this one out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlock!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Golgotha
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2020 14:58:06

I love what Golgotha is doing. It’s “dungeons” but not dungeon crawl with a focus not room by room but narratively interesting choices or challenges, you have a specific over-arching objective and a limitation (usage dice clock) on how long you can take to do it. It’s all about evocative wonders, unexplainable technologies, complications, and hurdles - with a bit of transhumanism. Driven by simplicity of TBH.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Golgotha
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warpstar!
by Peter L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2020 11:48:29

A great light weight and relatively simple title, but with plenty of options for some retro sci fi play. There is a setting included, but really, this system could be used for everything from warhammer to firefly.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warpstar!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warpstar!
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 12:41:22

Warpstar! is the eagerly awaited (certainly by me) Sci-fi take on Warlock!. Quite simply, if you liked Warlock!, and you want a Sci-fi game to add to your repertoire then Warpstar! should be an immediate buy. If you haven't already played Warlock! (you should) then Warpstar! is a rules-light Sci-fi game with an implied setting that gives you just enough to work with but doesn't hem you in by being overly detailed. The Chorus of a Million worlds has all the space you need to tell the stories you want to tell and the easy to hack and understand mechanics mean the rules aren't going to get in your way either while still having some fun and clever mechanics to play around with as you explore space... And hopefully not get twisted by Warpspace, though that can be fun too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlock! Compendium 2
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 12:34:07

If I had to choose among the supporting books for Warlock! which to buy first, I'm feeling like Compendium 2 would be my prime candidate. It does a lot to give tools to contextualize characters and bring them to life for those who felt that the default system may have been able to do more in that regard. Talents, the incredible introduction of Pluck (an inverse of Luck from Warlock! and tied into a mental stress/horror system), and lovely easy-peasy guidelines for making NPCs (on the fly or beforehand) are some of my favorite tools that Compendium 2 brings to your Warlock! toolbox. Oh, did I mention bombs?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlock! Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Summerland Second Edition
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2020 12:30:11

Beautiful little game using an open game engine coming from the old WEG Star Wars which held immediate nostalgia value for me. The setting is evocative and the world asks to be brought to life at the gaming table, the artwork throughout gives plenty of fodder to do just that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Summerland Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warlock! Compendium
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2020 23:14:37

Warlock! Compendium adds quite a lot of themed flavor to the mechanics of Warlock! If you felt that the standard set of careers in Warlock! lacked choices that really made your Halfling feel like a Halfling, never fear, compendium has your back. Ever wonder what the effects of chaos on The Kingdom (Warlock!'s implied setting) might be or where it comes from? Oh yeah, Compendium has you covered. Have you thought about having your party tangle with a nasty old necromancer but didn't feel the base spells in Warlock! were getting you there, well... yeah, compendium has you covered. Like options? Well... you get the point. Get Compendium.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warlock! Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates