DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Codex of the New Earth: Cult of the Still Lady
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2021 11:10:00

This is Science Fantasy within the OSR Sci-Fi RPG Stars Without Number. It prefigures his later Codex of the Black Sun which really gets into Space Wizardry. A great antagonist for your players or a great background for a player to use in assembling their character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Codex of the New Earth: Cult of the Still Lady
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Forest R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2021 08:30:00

Once again kevin Crawford not only exceeds but blows away all of my expectations. this game and indeed all of his work is impressive. Stars without Number Revised Edition is my "go to" Science Fiction Game. I am waiting to see his next release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mandate Archive: Red Sangha Mercenary Corps
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2021 11:57:34

A great and tragic backstory for a religious and chemically mandated mercenary group. Kevin Crawford creates an amazing group of NPCs that work well in Stars Without Number or any other Sci-Fi RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mandate Archive: Red Sangha Mercenary Corps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2021 08:08:52

An indepth look at TSR design from one of the great creators of OSR content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Codex of the Black Sun: Sorcery for Stars Without Number
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2021 09:52:44

If you want sandbox Science Fantasy then you have found it! You can use part or all of this to create Jedi or Space Wizards in the Stars Without Number game from Sine Nomine Publishing, the imprint of Kevin Crawford.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Codex of the Black Sun: Sorcery for Stars Without Number
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2021 17:50:49

Kevin Crawford is the best in the business at designing sandbox-gaming tools. This is the gateway drug to Sine Nomine Publishing's library of games, and it's well worth your while. Do consider picking up the revised edition!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Tash D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2020 01:06:50

While there are a few issues with balancing and such (a low magic tradition that anyone can get with a fact having a better fire attack than the Fire Word?) this has rapidly become one of my absolute favourite games

Because all of you are so powerful, it incentivises the GMs to create problems that cannot be solved through combat, or overcome through strength. Instead power use, RP and politiking will be the main ways of solving your problems and I adore that to pieces

As you grow in power your cults and faiths become integrated in the core gameplay loops and often are used as plot hooks, and that can make for some incredible RP moments and moral decisions

For those who enjoy high powered games Godbound is definitely a must have, though it may need some tweaking if you're someone who wants a more balanced game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2020 16:38:29

What is there to say? A game that does everything that D&D is supposed to do, but better, and makes running sandboxes easy - IN SPACE. I could recount everything that is good about this, one of my favorite RPG systems, but I feel like it's praised endlessly by everyone who plays it, and I'd just be a broken record.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Marée Rouge
by Corvo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 15:04:35

Traduction de Red Tide, par, si je dis pas de bêtise, Scriptorium, qui a fait le systèmes "Portes, Monstres, Trésors 2", un clone de Labyrinth Lord donc complètement compatible avec ce cadre de campagne.

Un 5/5 sur la traduction, et un 4/5 sur l'oeuvre originale.

J'aime le fait que le cadre soit un archipel de plusieurs îles avec microclimats dont on ne peut pas sortir. Parfait pour des petites campagnes bac à sables. Les différentes civilisations humaines sont calquées sur celles de la chine ancienne, japon, vikings, arabes.... il y a quelques nains et elfes, mais vraiment peu. Les orques et gobelins ont été remplacés par quelque chose d'autre, un peuple proche des humains avec des guerriers barbares et des sorcières surpuissantes.

Dommage que l'auteur soit reste dans le "D&D classique" au niveau des classes et des sorts ; le cadre aurait été parfait pour créer des classes liés a chaque culture : taoiste, moines, artistes martiaux, samourai, berserkers, des pirates aussi, des magies basées sur les 5 éléments chinois ou le shintoisme, des divinités liés aux mythologies... Dans un prochain supplément peut-être ?

PS : pour un raison obscure, ce livre n'est pas indexée sur Drivethru. Impossible de tomber dessus avec une recherche ; il faut aller regarder le catalogue de Sin Nomine Publishing, et tout dérouler, c'est la seule manière de le trouver.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marée Rouge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scarlet Heroes
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2020 14:47:05

Content quality is super good. It's a very nice sandbox system for playing with 0 to 2 players (aside the GM).

Yes I said "very nice", not "perfect", because content isn't rich-enough for that for the price (project was kickstarted 18k$), and the "solo playing" rules are not enough elaborated (for that, buying the "Mythic Game Master Emulator" is recommanded ; it's how start the Solo Heroes section).

In a nutshell, Scarlet Heroes is a good mix of different Sin Nomine Publishing : so simplify, it's a typical D&D B/X system in the Red Tide setting with some Godbound rules (the good ones, like Fray Die) to make the characters super powerful ; and an extended "Black Streams : Solo Heroes" content, to play with just 1 or 2 PC, or even without GM.

So if you are just discovering this publisher and his sandbox philosophy, it's a very good entry point. If you already know the others books, Scarlet Heroes will probably appears very classic or even useless.

The writing is very pleasant and easy, always go straight to the point, concise. You should try "Scarlet Heroes : Quickstart" to make you a good idea ; this books add some advises and generators and rules to play solo, but it's more about "explaining more" than adding new features.

About the printing : I guess it went though Drivethru Print-On-Demand (it's not clearly written in the book), and the quality is quite bad : paper of bad quality and almost transparent, hard cover not properly fitting (edge is too thin, giving the book a curled appearance), and I have a feeling the content is not up-to-date with the last PDF version (ISBN is different). At my knowledge, author didn't published a changelog to know what are the differences since. So sadly, buying only the PDF and printing it on xpress.lulu will give you a better and cheaper result, but unfortunately, less money to the writer.... Or, at least, buy the softcover instead of hardcover.

The book take place in the "Red Tide" setting. It's nicely introduced in this book, but if you want to properly use that setting, I will recommend buying the "Red Tide Campaign" book from same author, if you want to create long campaign with a heavy focus on the universe. "Red Tide" is originally aimed for Labyrinth Lord, but you can easily use it for Scarlet Heroes. Else you can transpose Scarlet Heroes in your own setting.

My only disapointment is the same as for Red Tide : humans are divided in disctinct "civilisations", inspired by : chinese, japanese, nordic... They have there own cultures, so it's kinda sad that it was not taken in account for classes & magics ; would have be interesting to have exclusive classes like "wuxia/wandering knight" for the chineses, samurai & ninja for Japaneses, berserkers/barbarians for nordic... Would have been interesting Clercs and Wizards having different spells depending the cultural God or philosophy, spells based on Tao, Yin-Yang and the 5 elements (wood & metal instead of Air) for ones, and shintoism and anismist for one other, Norse mythology etc...

Instead of that we have very generic D&D magic with some extra spells, and only 4 classes (Warrior Thied Cleric Magic-user). "The Sandbox" magazine (free) introduce 2 others, "The Last Prince" and "Blademaster" giving you tips about how to create your own.

The Scarlet system seems, at first sight, very similar to Labyrinth Lord and B/X, but is, in fact, very different, allowing more powerful PC (you need do compensate their low number !) to single-handle almost all situations, like in Godbound. Still, uou can easily adapt any D&D B/X books to Scarlet Heroes system (it's explained how to), allowing you to play with a reduced amount of players. Switching from any OSR system to Scarlet Heroes and vice-versa (depending the number of players you have) should also be easy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
My thanks for your kind words about the content. Just to be clear, the contents are the same between PDF and paper book; ISBNs always have to be different between ebook and print versions because they're meant to denote single, specific, precise editions. A book with print, epub, mobi, and PDF versions will have four different ISBNs.
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Victor C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2020 03:58:53

I played this with a group of friends and we all loved it. Lots of freedom on the GM's end from what I've heard and that was one of the things he liked about it. Will say though-- too much confusing and overly complicated terminology. While I understand certain product names are copywrighted and/or trademarked I do think it's a bit excessive at times and the descriptions are vague. Less is more, you dont need to have all the big words nailed for the writing to be good. Nevertheless, all my complaints about the text are minor in comparison to the mechanics; which are wonderfully streamlined and leave room for a plethora of amazing creativity and ingenuity from all parties involved.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Spencer C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2020 14:48:14

Been playing RPGs for 36 years including many, now, classic space faring games. This is the best I've encountered. Both to run and play. The rules are straightforward and clear to understand. You can teach a group in a single sitting all they really need to know to get going. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Cosmo C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2020 18:12:46

What can I say? This is amazing. Absolutely incredible. High production values, very cleanly organized, thought through by a clearly very experienced game designer. If you want to play in a sci-fi setting using the D20 system this is it right here. Stuck for story ideas? Excellent tables and tools throughout. Want to own and upgrade a spaceship and would like a decent spaceship combat that isn't too involved but provides an easy skeleton to dump a bunch of homebrew rules onto if you want? You've got that too. This is one of the better RPG books I've ever seen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Other Dust
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2020 09:36:01

I am simply in awe at Other Dust.

I had originally set out to find a setting I could use for a post-apocalyptic campaign. I looked at a few different books out there but none of them drew me in as much as Other Dust.

The writing is superb and I ended up picking up the Free PDF of SWN just to access the timeline and fill my head with more of this world's lore. Kevin Crawford has created exactly the type of world I want my players exploring. The Highshine simply scares the crap out of me. Confronting a terrified but benevolent AI would be an amazing scene. Running away from or fighting against Crazed just gets my GM heart beating.

Character creation is straightforward and simple. I'm thinking of adding aspects of the SWN book in with this campaign and perhaps allowing synthetic humans, VI, or something along that nature. The books compliment each other greatly, however the Revised SWN does change a few things around but a handy section on the coversion helps to bring it into the Other Dust setting just fine.

I would love to see some additional mutations, classes, and backgrounds added in supplements but those can also be created fairly easily using the existing ones as templates.

I'm excited to start building characters with the players soon and getting into the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Other Dust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wolves of God: Adventures in Dark Ages England
by Marcus H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2020 01:44:24

Welcome to the strange and fantastical world of fantasy Dark Ages England. This book is a role-playing exercise to immerse the GM, player, and reader into what it would be like to live in this strange time. While there is magic, myth, and monsters, the most alien aspect of this world is the Church centered society. As in, the highest culture, the greatest learning, and the most advanced technology will be in “ministers”. Living in a stone building was something abbots did to glorify God while King’s palaces were wooden mead halls. My impression of these people is that they were basically land-bound Vikings that worshiped Jesus.

While it is entirely possible to cut out the supernatural elements of this game and run a purely historical game, that cuts out many of my favorite parts of this game. The Roman Caesters and Arxes are an inspired way to re-skin D&D dungeon crawling to fit this setting. Arxes really lend themselves to the dungeon as Mythic Underworld so unique to OSR tradition, but could also be used to plug in some Kelipots from Silent Legions. A good way to get non-history buffs into the setting would be to set up your “Caester-crawl” with a minister safe-zone and have an OSR dungeon crawl with new monsters and treasures.

The bestiary is inspired. A series of monsters are described thematically with the mechanical bones and some specific abilities, but then they are indicated to have “Gifts” in specific spheres like “Might” or “Ruin” or “Forging”. Each sphere has 12 gifts specified mechanically, 8 lesser, and 4 greater. For example, a Draca or Dragon should have gifts in the Ruin, Might, Wisdom, Cursing, or Beguiling categories. As a mighty foe, they are recommended to have at least 3 lesser and 1 greater gift. With 40 lesser gifts to choose from and 20 greater gifts, that is 197,600 mechanically unique combinations of dragon. Godbound’s bestiary had similar flexibility, but this game applied it to more traditional fantasy, which is great. This kind of system really rewards a homebrewing GM, but this bestiary packs enough punch to fill a whole campaign with varied monsters by itself.

On-top of this, you have rules for domain management and mass combat that are fine and adventure generating. The domain rules function, create events, and then quickly get off the table to get back to adventuring. You can flex Lordly might and even be an abbot with lands to manage, but that fun won’t ruin other people’s fun. The mass combat rules give incentive for PCs to act independently and act as battlefield heroes. A lot of other RPG system’s mass combat rules systems suddenly strip your hero of all their abilities and place their fate on a die roll. This game does not do that.

The treasure section is robust for mundane gear and riches and provides loot tables that most OSR games tell us to open up our copy of B/X or the Rules Cyclopedia to reference. I prefer the convenience of these tables being in this book, with this setting’s money, and referencing treasure setting appropriate. This is good. There is enough magic treasure to get you going, but I would need to homebrew more items for an actual full length campaign.

This game is well worth your time even if the initial elevator pitch of “Dark Ages England” does nothing for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wolves of God: Adventures in Dark Ages England
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 312 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates