DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Chad S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2021 23:53:32

Short Version: This was great.

I’ve been DMing a fairly long time, but I generally don’t use published adventures. I’ve really enjoyed Sly Flourish’s advice books, so I thought I’d give this a try. We just finished the last part of the main storyline and all the players told me how much they’ve enjoyed it.

We played almost weekly, for three to four hours at a shot. Playing through all the adventures lasted us nearly six months. We averaged two sessions an adventure, but your mileage may vary.

Everything is designed around a four character party. I typically had five or six. This wasn’t much of an issue. All I had to do was drop in an extra opponent here and there and things worked out nicely. Some encounters also have notes for scaling up important encounters for larger parties.

Honestly, I think I only even used about 3/4 of the content here. There are location and encounter generators that would easily add additional content if you felt your group needed more. There are also guidelines for continuing the plot into higher tiers of play if you want to continue beyond the presented storyline.

The only thing I can think of as a downside I’m almost embarrassed to bring up. A few of the VTT maps are scaled for 10’ squares instead of 5’. I didn’t catch it the first time, but I was on the lookout for it going forward. I can hardly complain about it, since I’m pretty sure the map pack was provided for free after I purchased the adventure. How can I complain about high-quality free stuff?

As someone who is kind of biased against published adventures, I can say this was a five-star experience for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Rob F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2021 07:03:50

A really good book by Mike. To the point and good examples. This really helped me "get my act together". Not that it was that bad, but really helpful points to prep more efficiently and save myself some time and nerves. It also made me feel better prepared if players go a different way than you anticipated (which happens all the time). The Secrets & Clues step, and trying to define 10 of them each time, is really helpful when you need to move to improv.

It is not limited to D&D, it would probably work for most RPGs. The steps described are pretty general. I would recommend it to every GM.

If you are not sure if you want to buy the book, you can go to the Sly Flourish youtube channel and watch his playlist on this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2021 23:02:31

I've never had more success running an adventure out of the book than I did with Ruins of the Grendleroot. Mike/Sly's style of presenting information is detailed enough that I don't feel like I payed for several adventure prompts; but, it's flexible enough to the point that I can leave in, omit, or edit elements that I want or add my own. I'd give it 6 stars if I could!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Saif A. E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2021 05:44:23

This is fantastic. But beware, in one read-through, you won't incorporate the suggestions here. There is still talent needed, and this particular book does not help on improving your creativity, but rather a checklist of all things one needs to do in order to achieve a good level of quality. Coming up with fantastic awesome super-duper locations is way easier said than done :D however this has helped me structure my games, and recognize what did I do wrong during prep (or what did I miss completely) as the game started. Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by GM J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2021 00:15:56

RotLDM is absolutely essential reading for any GM. I use this book every single week while planning my sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Arseni K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2021 13:48:40

This is such a fantastic product. Not only are the adventures themselves well written, easy to run, have gorgeous illustrations and good maps, but the setting itself is such a treat and easy to adapt into other published settings! I've now adapted three adventures from the book into my own campaigns with great success and I hope run the whole thing as a mini-campaign later this year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
by Leonardo b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 02:14:15

I did not read all the lairs yet, but I must say the product is very well packed and presented. The lairs can be contestualized in different situations. The dungeons are always complicate enough, without being neither trivial or impossible. The authors leaves precious commentary for every lair together with suggestions of future development.

For me, a 6 stars out of 5. A must have product.

Leo



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Brian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2021 12:58:02

This is full of great information, presented in an easy and intuitive format. Strongly recommended for DMs who want to have fun and make sure their players have fun. The "Secrets and Clues" advice alone is worth the investment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Craig F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 14:08:42

Genius! This book gave me the tools and courage to follow my instincts and unchain my creativity No more semi-railroading to keep my plans in play. Way less prep time for me and a MUCH better experience for my players. It's truly shocking how this book (and its YouTube support videos) improved my GMing and made my life simpler and much better! Reading it opens an explosion of creativity and freedom while also reducing GM workloads Must buy!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Andy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 18:56:10

an Excellent in-depth campaign setting/bolt-on with interesting characters, interesting lore and a springboard setting for your own campaign. There is enough flexibility in the writing for you to adapt or integrate the content into your own game. Maps, character art and location art are provided for those using roll20/foundry (though you'll still need to add walls, lights etc) Maybe scope for a paid foundry module in the future guys, just saying :)

Great work



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Mark Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 13:02:04

Since purchasing those years ago, this reference book as been a guiding force in reducing my game prep and making it far more enjoyable to plan out next sessions and campaigns with my players. While it may seem silly, this book was life-changing for me. Before reading and engaging with the entire Sly Flourish ecosystem (website, blogs, adventures, Discord server, Twitch TV Sunday morning preps) I was overwhelmed with preparation for game sessions and campaigns.

This reference changed all of that and I am grateful for Sly Flourish sharing insights and templates that might seem simple, but eased my anxiety going into game nights. As I said, "life changing", as in anxiety was preventing me from enjoying the experience of being a DM.

I cannot recommend enough, and I am a patron now, of Sly Flourish, as a thank you to the positive impact his published materials have given me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy Dungeon Master
by michael w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2021 12:53:14

the only good book about how to run games. I read it years ago and still the way I run games is based on this advice, while of course building upon the ideas here and even regecting some of them, but it's all based on this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
by Scott N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2021 16:19:28

Awesome set of adventures in an evocative setting. Masterful tweaks on standard tropes to keep things fresh for long-time and new players. Excellent formating to quickly prepare the DM for each scene. Cannot recommend this highly enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Adventures: Ruins of the Grendleroot for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lazy DM's Workbook
by Tim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2021 11:19:58

Excellent Job! Thanks Sly! Thank You for the Lazy DM's Workbook and book info! I really appreciate the on hand table charts! The dungeon layouts are great also!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy DM's Workbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
by Grumpy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2021 12:12:25

I backed the project on kickstarter because it looked amazing and having had it now since December and having run almost half the adventures in the books I have not been disappointed. The Maps and adventure design is absolutely amazing, and has been ALOT of fun to run. My group has really enjoyed these oneshots as a nice break while our usual campaign is on hiatus, and I've personally enjoyed running them. This book goes above and beyond, and definitely meets the high quality of work I've come to associate with Sly Flourish Products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantastic Lairs: 23 Boss Battles for your 5e RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates