DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Gerald U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2021 09:10:53

This is a great concept for running an RPG adventure solo. Depending on the effort you want to put into it, this can run anything from a mini-delve to a major on-going campaign. You can run it all with the help of this book.

However for it to work properly it requires a good amount of effort, ingenuity and recording. The book points you in the right direction but you have to interpret the details yourself.

A very ingenuous system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Magazine Volume 6
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2021 14:08:44

Fantastic addition to the Mythic lineup! The mystery framework seems very useful and simple to incorporate into the overall solo gameplay experience. I really like that it's useful for both "whodunit" type mysteries as well as broader investigations like you'd experience in a Dr Who scenario, and the included extended example is a great way to demonstrate the features and functions of the system. A very useful tool for the solo player's toolbox!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magazine Volume 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Magazine Volume 2
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2021 14:56:47

"Randomized Location Crafting" is an excellent update and improvement on The Location Crafter. It's cleaner and easier to use than the original. The Area Elements Table is a nice improvement.

The Random Element Descriptors Table is good on its own for describing a Location, Encounter, or Object. It has an additional use that the text doesn't mention: It can stand in for the Descriptor 2 table from Mythic Variations 2. The Descriptor 2 table strives to be a generic, one-size-fits-all list of adjectives you could apply to characters, places, and things. Some of its entries are harder to apply to one category or another. If you know you're describing a character, a place, or a thing, you can use the Encounter, Location, or Object column from the Random Element Descriptors instead of the generic Descriptor 2 table.

The Area Elements Table creates the opportunity for external plug-ins: random generators you've found or created outside of the Mythic family of products.

  • If you get the "Random" result from the Encounter column, the article has you roll up a couple of Random Element Descriptors to figure out what it might be. Instead (or maybe in addition), you could use an external encounter generator you like.
  • If the Area Elements Table gives you the "Known" result, the article has you roll on the Known Elements Region Sheet. You could add the name of your encounter generator as a known element. Maybe you added "Tusken Raiders" to the Encounter column because you want them to be present, but you might also add "desert encounter generator" as a known encounter. You won't roll up the encounter until you see that result during play. That reduces your prep time and gives you adaptability during play. It lets you factor in other considerations on the spot, such as day vs night encounters or common vs rare encounters, without having to fill up the region sheet and without having to hard-code specific encounters ahead of time. Similarly, you might have external generators in mind for locations and objects.

"Making the Most of Altered Scenes" is also helpful. I do find occasions when I want more inspiration for altering a scene. By the way, it took me a while to realize what the heading "Random Event Graft" was supposed to mean. I was immediately thinking of "graft" in the sense of political corruption. Eventually, it sunk in: "Oh, right, like grafting plant parts." :-)

As usual, Tana Pigeon's writing is clear and organized. The fully worked examples are very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Magazine Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Klaas v. d. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2021 08:34:18

What an amazing tool for both solo play and to help a GM run a low-prep / prep-less game. It seems to interact well with the RPGs I have tried so far, and the explanations are very clear. The only reason it's not a 5/5 for me is the rather cringy art throughout. Doesn't bother me too much, but the book would have been better without it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator Deck
by Troy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2021 14:49:08

Perfect implementation of the Mythic GME system. I currently use the deck solo with Call of Cthulhu 7th Ed rules with the Arkham and Miskatonic University source books as a "logical" backdrop for on-the-fly stories. I also picked up the Keeper decks to quickly pull random NPCs, phobias, and monsters as needed. I can play a deep, low-footprint RPG game on the couch.

Oddly enough, the GME-generated stories with Arkham as a backdrop progress much like the Sherlock Holmes Consulting Detective games, except they are entirely open-ended. The resulting stories and accumlation of clues and locations don't feel random at all. It's kind of creepy (which is great). I'd like to try LA and New Orleans source books next with the GME deck, but I'm currently preoccupied with a growing menace in Arkham.

Perhaps most importantly, the mechanics of the GME deck are fun in themselves. I have some super heavy board games and sometimes the intricate mechanics get tedious to run. With the GME deck, I'm getting intricate, complex stories with mechanics that practicallly run themselves. Every flip of the card is an exciting opportunity for the story to progress in unexpected, yet logical ways, especially when the chaos factor inevitably ramps up.

I don't go as far as journaling with the GME deck, though the scenes play out much like a good movie or book in my head. I use a notebook as a simple date and time calendar as well as investigator's clue book. I track plot points (threads), locations, NPCs, and clues in my notebook as the story develops. It's lightweight and fun.

One little nice-to-have I might suggest is for the publisher is to add a ten step random number generator to the cards similar to Fields of Fire (GMT). As many people will use the GME deck with existing RPG systems, they can dispense with all the various dice and use one or more cards with the random number generator off the deck. Need a D3? Use a card from the deck. Need a D20? Use two cards from the deck. D100? Ditto. Need a D500? You get the idea. It's so easy and compact.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by J.P. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2021 07:54:48

Our group has now used this to run a post-apocalyptic game for four sessions and it has been very entertaining so far. I've found that using this system activates all the players nicely, where in traditional games some players fall easily into idle mode (especially true with online gaming).

I would give the product 4 - or maybe even 5 - stars if it didn't have the awful underweight-big-breasted-no-underwear-wearing-women "art" in it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Nathaniel T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2021 08:31:30

TL;DR Classic solo rules feel dated today yet still might be of value if you’re looking for a generic GM emulator.

Mythic Game Master Emulator (MGME) was my first purchase from drivethrurpg.com and its age does show. At the time, solo rules for decision making were a new concept to me. The general idea was to make a wish for the fiction, roll percentile dice to see if it comes to pass, then adapt when it doesn’t. That central idea remains sound. The desire for a solid solo game that isn’t choose-your-own-adventure still resonates with me. While I do have nostalgia for CYOA games, it was eye opening to see a different style. However, the implementation in MGME feels lacking today. Is it still worth a read? Maybe. With so many more solo options on the market, you might be able to find something more tailored to what you want in a system. Especially from the mid-quarantine boom that found so many players trying to get a TTRPG fix without their usual face-to-face game groups. Myself, I’ve preferred the Ironsworn solo TTRPG experience… but note that it’s a game that was released more than ten years after MGME.
As a generic GM emulator, MGME might still find a valuable place in your collection. But it could also use an update, drawing upon the past decade of solo gaming innovation. Aside: Throughout the book, the author appeals to “logic.” For me, these calls fall short. Trying to cover inductive and deductive thought to explain how the system works? Not very clean and ultimately not of much use. And for what it’s worth, Sherlock Holmes actually used abductive reasoning, regardless of what Doyle called it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Variations 2
by Jean-Francois B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2021 21:42:31

I use the variations for a few years, I have also Mythic 1 but I largely prefers what the variation bring. Personally I made a hybrid system, called GMCore, based on the work of this book (mainly the fate / detail / event check) and I've been able to interface to it the moves and momentum concepts from Ironsworn to it. I also use the Behavior Check, even if now I use the more streamlined and very good one in Mythic Magazine and I integrated it to a 3-levels npc interaction system (1 level for a specific need/interaction/investigation).

Anyway, all that to say thanks for the incredible (and ongoing, via the magazines) work! M1 was good but MVII definately put the bar for tabletop solo RPG gaming! Keep it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Variations 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Game Master Emulator
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2021 20:22:35

Interesting system, with absolutely abysmal art that makes it an embarrassment to bring to a group of players.

Would pay double / give 4 stars for a version with no pictures at all..



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Variations 2
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2021 16:54:44

An excellent addition and update. It's clearly written and it hangs together nicely.

The Fate Check (for yes/no questions) is cleaner and easier than the earlier Fate Chart. You don't have a table of 297 numbers to look up (198 of which were in a microscopic font size).

The Detail Check (for open-ended questions) is also good. I like the mix of possible outcomes that inspire a direction to take: some that focus on particular characters, some that focus on particular threads, and some that stir emotional reactions. The table of examples ("Victor Milgrew Detail Check Question Examples") is helpful.

The meaning tables for descriptions and actions don't do much for me. Neither did the previous Action/Subject tables. They're too generic and they don't always match up well with each other. Results like "Helplessly Healthy" and "Imitate Portals" are more likely to slow me down than to help me. My preference would be to see something like a "Meaning Table Crafter." Instead of handing you two prefab d100 tables that are supposed to accommodate every genre and every tone, it would guide you in creating your own d20, d10, or even d6 pairs of tables, for themes that suit you. You might use the Adventure Crafter themes (Action, Tension, Mystery, Social, and Personal), or just Combat and Conversation themes. You might also prefer tables that suit your game's tone, such as light entertainment, noir, or whatever. I'd get a lot more out of something like that than I do from universal tables. Granted, the meaning tables are completely optional, so I can skip them and no harm done.

The Event Check is nicely done.

I like the Behavior Check. In a sense, it's the Chekhov's Gun principle, applied to character descriptions. (One version of Chekhov's Gun: "If you say in the first chapter that there is a rifle hanging on the wall, in the second or third chapter it absolutely must go off. If it's not going to be fired, it shouldn't be hanging there.") In other words, the Behavior Check is a way to make character descriptions directly relevant. If you say a character is cheerful or gloomy or whatever, the Behavior Check gives you a way to use it.

The Behavior Check also exemplifies the "Focus on the Critical Few" principle. Some game systems would have you roll up bunches of traits for characters -- traits that you might mention once and then forget about. In the Behavior Check, no more than three traits are going to matter, so indirectly it encourages you to use restraint when cranking out traits.

As much as I like the other chapters, I don't see the point of the Statistic Check. It's six pages on rolling up character stats (or other stats) into a generic form, and then you have to convert the generic results to the game system of your choice. In most RPG systems, stat generation is already pretty straightforward ("Assign these values to these stats" or "Roll these dice and assign them to these stats"). Even if I played a super-crunchy system with character creation that involves hours of dice rolling and lookups in tables and flowcharts, I'm not seeing how the Statistic Check would help. It seems to me that the Statistic Check complicates the process without enhancing it. In addition, I've stopped feeling the need to randomize every creature's stats. If you're facing an ogre, here are the ogre's stats. Period. Every time. Is the game really enhanced if Ogre 1's strength is a smidgen higher than Ogre 2's? Not for me. The more interesting situation for me would be that Ogre 1 is power-hungry and Ogre 2 is lazy, or that Ogre 1 is the chieftain and Ogre 2 is a hunter, or that Ogre 1 is known as The Mighty while Ogre 2 is known as The Sly; those traits will manifest when you do a Behavior Check. I don't need to randomize their stats to make them interesting.

Finally, kudos to the writer (and any editors) for the good, clear writing. So often, RPG writing makes me think, "For crying out loud, use a spelling checker, learn what apostrophes are for, and study grammar!" Not here. Nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Variations 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Adventure Crafter
by Dawn T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/23/2020 16:00:42

Great material however was delivered bent and torn towards the bottom of the pages. Looks like it has been damaged by water.. pages are bubbled up. For the amount of money, wish it was in better condition.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventure Crafter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Dawn, I'm sorry your book got damaged in delivery. I know how disappointing that is. If you haven't already, please contact DMs Guild and report the problem (you can use the Contact Us link at the bottom left of this page or go to https://support.dmsguild.com/hc/en-us/requests/new). If they can't help you, please contact me directly and I'll see about sending you out a fresh copy of the book. You can reach me through the Contact Us on our publisher website, which can be reached through the publisher link on the product page. Tana
The Adventure Crafter Deck
by Sean C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2020 11:32:11

These cards are based off the original book, but are far superior. The original book was a great tool, but one of the big problems was that it was too slow to use the table system. Great for prep, but horrible for on the fly building of stories. With the card system, it is a lot faster to make stories on the fly.

I strongly suggest that instead of using the small theme deck. Just to write out numbers and pick the themes you want. This way you can remove themes or even have double/triple themed adventures.

Pros:

  • Quickly build stories and plot points
  • Easier to user than the book
  • Compact
  • Allows you to generate characters

Cons:

  • Instructions do a bad job of explaining how to integrate with the Mythic Deck and basically tell you to read the book
  • You still need the PDF instructions to explain more details from the short event/plot description
  • The PDF instructions are missing many of the details the Adventure Crafter book has
  • Character generation is missing some details that can be found with GameMaster's Apprentice

Overall, this is a must buy for GMs and story writers. However, I am not sure you can understand this and how it works with the Mythic Deck without the Adventure Crafter book. I strongly suggest the author let you buy these cards and the Adventuer Craft book with a slight discount to the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Adventure Crafter Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Adventure Crafter Deck
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2020 09:35:06

I owned the book already and thought the cards might be a good way to speed up prep and play and boy was I right. They are a fantastic resource for GMs and Solo players. As both (I GM for my kids and soemtimes play solo, or with them as well), these cards are great for creating dynamic stories on the fly or with short preparation. I highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words! I'm glad you're enjoying the deck. My main hope with the deck was to speed up TAC, which makes it more viable for use on the fly instead of just for preparation. I think it's cool that you adventure with your kids :)
Mythic Role Playing
by Nicolette W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2020 19:33:51

The actual content of the book is good, but the art (full of nearly-naked women with strange anatomy and waists as small as their heads) is distracting and actually detracted from the experience of reading the book for me.

Thoroughly enjoy the GM Emulator system though! If you ever re-release, please please comission better art.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Role Playing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Nicolette, thank you for the review! I agree, I'm not happy with the artwork either. There is a second edition of Mythic coming out hopefully in the next 6 months that will present Mythic in a much nicer looking book with new art. I may also republish the current book with new artwork since the art grates on me so much.
Mythic Variations 2
by Courtney D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2020 21:43:59

These second set of extensions to the Mythic rules streamlines a lot of the process.

  • The biggest and most noticeable difference is the Fate Check replacing the Fate Chart. In the original rules, you would refer to a chart, comparing the odds of succeeding with possible influence from the Chaos Factor. I personally found it daunting. Instead, the Fate Check forgoes the chart and simplifies the process so you could easily manage it in your head.
  • The Detail Check is an alternative means of getting details on an entity, or rather, it's a random word generator to inspire your imagination. I've personally found its selection of words satisfactory.
  • The Event Check is more or less the same as the Random Event from the original. Aside from how it's triggered (from the Fate Check), I can't see a difference.
  • The Behaviour check is fascinating, if a little fiddly with the numbers. With it, you determine the intensity that an NPC acts and can randomly pull out unexpected actions. It has a particular consistency that helps it along in comparison to simply making a Fate Check asking something like "did the guy cower in fear?"
  • I confess to not using the Statistics Check, as the games I play using Mythic were devoid of crunch.

I personally found these variations to be my favourite as they get the job done quickly and with minimum fuss.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Variations 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates