DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Onyx Sky - Adventure - Salt City Dogs
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 03:20:29

I've just run this for my group, and I'm jumping off from this intro story into a longer campaign. This is a good introduction campaign, really easy to get into with lots of easy to run bullet point encounters. My group like a bit more combat, so I added an extra combat encounter just as they reached the market town location (no spoilers). And it's free, so that's a bonus!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky - Adventure - Salt City Dogs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Onyx Sky (Free Version)
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 03:20:03

I gave this free version of Onyx Sky to my players to help them create their characters and it has all of the game rules in it. It's not a quickstart, it has the whole system. It's a godsend. And FREE!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Onyx Sky
by Thuyen N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2021 03:19:42

We're two weeks in to our Onyx Sky campaign now, and really getting into the system and the world. We've just wrapped up the intro adventure Salt City Dogs, so I'm building on that to continue the campaign as the player's characters head out into the world.

I chose Onyx Sky because we wanted a more serious post-apocalypse game, and without zombies and the goofy mutant stuff that most PA games seem to lean on. I didn't have much of a chance to dig to much into the campaign guide in the book before we started, but luckily the starter adventure gives a good overview of the setting throughout the scenario.

The system is straightforward and easy to build and develop characters. And it's got enough meat for interesting combat and adventuring without getting in the way with too much fiddly maths and exceptions and little edge case rules. One thing though, we're almost at the point where the players characters have d16 attributes, so I've ordered a set of d16 dice from eBay, which hopefully arrive before we're able to play in person again. We're playing online now, so we're using a dice roller which supports custom dice.

A couple of the players have been using the pre-gens, and the others made their own characters, we really appreciated the pre-made characters.

And for $15, there's a lot of content for the money, but I really appreciated that this isn't one of those games with 50+ pages of lore to read before you can even get playing! Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Sky
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Minh N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2021 20:37:39

This was a true joy for our family tonight. I've never played a TTRPG before but always like the idea of it and thought it could be a good idea for my two boys aged 5 and 7. Sure enough they jumped right into it and loved the Basement O Rats adventure. I really loved seeing them use their imagination and teamwork to play through everything. I was able to host relatively well as a complete novice thanks to the rule book and prompts, though i should probablly setup a little earlier next time. Cutting out all the hero cards and monsters as we started was a bit much.

Highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Andrew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2021 20:15:10

I finally got my hyper-competitive 7 yo twins playing, by teaching them separately. They love it!

I've just taken them down the Basement o' Rats a couple of times. And they object if I deviate from the previous script. I've bought the whole expansion kit now, and am looking choosing the next adventure.

I like the dice system, using an "advantage" style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Jon m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2021 09:59:56

Great intro for kids into RPG. Easy to play this has all you need to run adventures. I do suggest getting some figures off ebay to add to the fun, or use lego figures like we did!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wizard's Challenge - A Hero Kids Escape Adventure
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2021 16:18:46

This is great!! First of all - - Hero Kids is AMAZING. It's SUCH a great system to introduce kids (ages around 8-14) to TTRPGs.

But, if you're here, I'm sure you know that already! As for this adventure here - - I love it! I've been playing through it with my daughter, and we're loving it. Exploration, puzzles, combat - - this has it all.

I fully plan to use this with my elementary students as well - - - the puzzles are PERFECT for encouraging collaboration and problem-solving!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wizard's Challenge - A Hero Kids Escape Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the nice review! I'm thrilled to hear you and your daughter are enjoying the adventure.
The Wizard's Challenge - A Hero Kids Escape Adventure
by Giselle R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2021 19:58:23

This adventure is very complete, with combats, puzzles and exploration. The puzzles (from the challenge pack) add more fun along the way. The text boxes provide an excellent setting. Finally, it is a very easy adventure to lead.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by STEPHANIE C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2021 15:03:48

I started playing this today with my son, and I can already tell this is going to be one of his favorite games. He is only 2.5, but he was able to follow along (with some grown up help) for a good 20 minutes at a time. We had a blast playing with is squirrel healer, Nutsy, and my husband's turtle tank. Definitely recommend, even for really young children.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Road to Ruin
by Steven K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2021 16:57:27

Couldn't be more pleased with this unique, brilliant card game! It looks amazing, and the design is really smart. Cooperate with friends or go it alone in a modular game world riddled with hordes of walking dead! Basic mechanics and strategy are easy to pick up and teach new players. The rule about discarding any item for a last ditch effort to reroll helps stave off the deadliness of unrelenting zombie hordes. (Don't forget to respawn new threats when revisiting locations!) The cards themselves are really beautiful with great art and flavor text to immerse players in a ruined world. Replay value is pretty terrific with multiple different scenarios and randomized world-map layouts. Although the 'dice cards' are fine in a pinch, I recommend playing with real dice. You can use anything for the player tokens, we generally play with grubby old coins. It's helpful to lay down a tablecloth before setting up to avoid scratching or bending up cards as you flip them over. Five stars for sure, this game is rad and I wish there were more like it. What would be really cool is if Hero Forge released an expansion of some kind, maybe with more scenarios, different locations, new survivor characters. As solid as it already is, the game feels expandable. It may even accommodate an alternative ruleset to open up a secondary play mode that's less focused on world-maps and more akin to a faster paced competitive poker style game. As it stands though it's really superb, definitely grab it for a quick and engaging way to scratch that zombie-killer itch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Road to Ruin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids Edycja Polska Polish
by Mateusz C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2021 08:36:28

Really well crafted system for kids! Simple and engaging. Great job, Mr. Halliday :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids Edycja Polska Polish
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids Online, The Adventure Begins!
by Gowri R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2021 00:28:30

Loved reading this fun book. It reminded me of Jumanji, where you get sucked inside the game. Collecting coins, goblins and adventures will be enticing for young readers. Great book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids Online, The Adventure Begins!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids Online, The Adventure Begins!
by Damien H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2021 19:15:51

Great book, great author. As a fan of LitRPG, I picked the book up and read it with my son and it absolutely delivers. 5 stars and two thumbs up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids Deutsch - Fantasy Rollenspiel - German
by Till D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2020 13:26:49

Hero Kids liefert für Kinder wirklich tolles Material zum Einsteigen in die Rollenspielwelt. Meine beiden waren total begeistert. Preislich völlig in Ordnung, mit wenig Vorbereitungsaufwand für die Spielleitung und viel Bastelspaß für die Kinder finde ich Hero Kids super gelungen. Daumen hoch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids Deutsch - Fantasy Rollenspiel - German
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2020 07:21:16

This whole environment is super fun and well made.

I've used it for years to help bring my kids into the world of role playing, from little kids to teenagers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 236 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates