DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Domain Building
by Mark A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2021 19:23:35

Very well written and thought out guide. Is good for Dungeon and Dragons style games. I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars because it could have been better. The site of the domain is not treated well. The location of the castle is also almost not there, e.g. is it sited on a river or road or both? There are several obvious questions like this that should have been answered and given rules for each case.

As is, it's worth paying $2 to $4 for.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Domain Building
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Into the Wild
by colin t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2021 20:32:56

A tremendous work. If you like old-school play, this volume covers a whole other arena of gameplay when your sessions grow past the first set of "dungeon" complexes in walking distance of their starting town.

What I love as a DM is that it's very comprehensive, exceedingly detailed, and because I am a seat-of-pants game master, it's easy to strip down that complexity and just finally get how hex-crawling is supposed to work. How can you get the players to expore and uncover a world that doesn't exist yet, but will still make sense as you generate it in play.

Not only that, it has all the rules for interacting with what they find in a MACRO way. Establish your own settlements. Expand ones you find. Expand the borders of exsiting domains. Go to full on war.

This is all stuff I've seen before in a ton of different seperate and way less well organized works. This compiles all of that high-level gameplay in one volume, makes it super simple to use the way OSE is known for. I don't even play OSE specifically, but this is suitable to any D&D esque fantasy adventure game up to like, 2nd edition-ish, IMO. I use it with Black Hack no problem.

This thing operates like a missing Dungeon Master Guide for "well the players are bored with dragons in the dungeons, and want to take over the world. Can't say enough good stuff about this material. Super usable. Super useful. Great material to help your gameplay and game mastering uncover an actual living, breathing interconnected world.

Note: 100% get the "filling in the blanks" companion to this too. So much value. I realized that I got this book as part of a bundle, and my above review may also include praise for that book too, as they work together and I read them all at once.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Wild
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Filling in the Blanks
by Simon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2021 05:22:14

A handy little resource to generate hexes, great stuff -     even backed Into the Wild off the back of this.

Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filling in the Blanks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Filling in the Blanks
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 15:57:14

I can't recommend this title. $10 for a PDF whose print quality is abysmal. I can't imagine that the POD is much better. Can't speak to the quality of the writing, but the product is junk.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Filling in the Blanks
by Lorne B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2020 14:48:04

Finally got my hands on the hardcover print editon of Filling in the Blanks, and it was well worth the wait! Like every other slightly greying dude in his thirties, I'm working on a sandboxy hexcrawl and this book has single-handedly taken the pain out of most of that process. Plus, there's something so satisfying about holding a book and physically rolling out some dice while you scribble out some notes in pencil. On graph paper lifted from dad's office, obviously.

About the only complaint that I have is that the beautiful indie cover art is ever so slightly pixellated; a minor production error that won't impact this rating.

A lot of work, time, and care went into this effort, and it shows. Leback should be proud of himself. I, my players, and my wallet can't wait to see what he's got in store for us next time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Thieves' Guilds
by Trent W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2020 10:05:40

Very useful in creating a thieves guild for your players. I used this supplement with 5e making some tweaks and adopting some of the rules from "domain building". I highly recommend this if you want some in-depth rules for creating and maintaining a player-ran thieves guild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Thieves' Guilds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Filling in the Blanks
by Jack W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2020 07:47:35

Great tool for old-school hexcrawling. If you are looking to create a hexcrawl or fill out your world or just help organize your thoughts for populating your hexes, this is a great tool. Easy to follow instructions and random tables throughout enable you to quickly populate your hexes. As recommended in the book, make sure you grab 'Domain Building" by the same author, it is referenced quite a bit in the book. It is "Pay what you want" on DriveThru.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filling in the Blanks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OSR Alternative Classes
by Anton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2020 10:05:00

Absolutely love it. Clean, smart and simple! Became patron after it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSR Alternative Classes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates